Eyes Open~Audrey

I have come to find that certain themes and symbols continuously move me. The latest case of this is the phrase “eyes open.”

Several years ago, I was involved in a young adult contemporary worship service called Wide Open. Each week a member of the young adult congregation would prepare a piece for the worship service and include a mixture of spiritual and contemporary music that went with them. Because the group was called Wide Open, the song “Hands Open” by Snow Patrol came to mind. The lyrics, “With my hands open and my eyes open, I just keep hoping that your heart opens,” moved me in a very Christ like-way; I will do for people, I will see them for who they really are and love them no matter what. I used this as a wonderful thematic element to my piece about the Sermon on the Mount.

Lately, I have been really moved by Taylor Swift’s “Eyes Open.” This song has touched because lately I have really overcome many obstacles but still have many more to face. The song says: “they never thought you’d make it this far.” And it’s right. But I have no matter what. God has prepared me for this life, to be more than any human thought possible As long as I keep my eyes open and on him I will succeed.

I have linked the two songs below. I hope you can feel the inspiration I did from them.

  1. #1 by Venus on April 15, 2012 - 3:48 am

    Wide Open is a pretty cool name! I’m checking out the songs you posted now! =) ~Venus

Leave a Reply

