How Much Do You Care? ~Venus

Hello everyone!!! My week has been ok..Thursday was my last day of work!!! THANK GOD!! lol!! The bldg I work in closed for the summer yesterday so towards the end of the month, I’ll be working in another bldg on campus for the summer (I’ll be doing what they call the “summer camp”). Yesterday was a busy day at the clinic. Fridays are usually slow so it was an adjustment to deal with 3 clients back to back. I didn’t even finish my paperwork! I have to finish it next week when I return.

I had one client that I felt sorry for. She came in for a pregnancy test and she seemed like she was on the edge (stressed out). She was very talkative and open with her life. When I have a client that comes in for a pregnancy test,  we go over 3 components: physical (symptoms/education background/sexual risk), emotional (feelings about pregnancy/relationships/how parents and baby’s father would feel about their pregnancy) , and spiritual (church background, heaven).  One thing that stuck out to me  when I asked her about her spiritual life is she told me that someone cared for her by inviting her to church. My client didn’t grow up in a Christian household and it touched my heart to hear talk about how she came to know God. It reminds me that as Christians, how important it is to witness to people and show that we care about them. Also to love them like we love God. I’m kind of new to this witnessing thing, but I want to get better at it. I’m glad I have the opportunity at the clinic to share my faith and minister to someone even though it makes me nervous. I know with more practice that I’ll get better.

My client pregnancy test was negative but I decided to follow up with her. We usually don’t follow up with clients that pregnancy tests are negative, but I felt like she needed someone to encourage her in her spiritual walk and in life. She has been through a lot just to be 19.  I just didn’t feel comfortable not talking to her anymore (I know attachment right? lol). I hope that ya’ll enjoyed my post!! God bless! ~Venus

  1. #1 by Danielle on May 6, 2012 - 5:00 pm

    I love this post V!

  2. #2 by Venus on May 9, 2012 - 12:04 am

    Thanks Dani! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

