Nesting & Kelly

Nesting

Well, well, well… I will be 33 weeks along on Tuesday. My baby is a little over 4 pounds and comparable to a pineapple. He can make my stomach bounce around like crazy with his tiny feet, elbow, and hands. I love every moment of feeling him grow stronger along with the bond I’m surprised to be feeling this soon. He’s already a part of me and Nathan and our marriage. This feeling is incredible.

I believe I have entered the ‘nesting’ phase of my pregnancy. I have spent the majority of this weekend arranging his things and making lists. Thanks to everyone who helped out with gifts for his entrance into the world. 🙂 I have almost everything we need. While I do love my job, there is nothing more urgent or satisfying to me than preparing the nursery.

I’ve also been spending a great deal of time preparing mentally. I have an optimistic energy that I’m cultivating to use during labor. Knowledge + relaxation + confidence in my natural instincts are the winning combination. On a daily basis I’m soaking up all of the information I can on birthing and breastfeeding. I cannot emphasize enough how helpful and inspirational Ina May Gaskin’s book is titled Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth. Kimberly is letting me read her copy. This woman is a midwife extraordinaire  with an abundance of knowledge to share.

Anyway, I’m just maintaining a daily prayer life to try and to keep myself spiritually ready for this challenge. Not a whole lot else is going on, as this baby-making process is consuming all of my passion/interest/energy/time at the moment.

Much love,

Kelly

 

  1. #1 by Renee N. Chaffin on May 6, 2012 - 10:30 pm

    Its strange how fast yet slow the last few months go. Being pregnant is absolutely amazing. I’m glad you’ve embraced all the aspects to well. I was so freaked out and sick my first trimester. But I enjoyed the secong and third one very much. I’m glad things are progressing well. Can’t wait to see him! And you of course 😉

  2. #2 by radical7even on May 8, 2012 - 4:40 pm

    Good luck on your nesting! I have been so excited to watch your journey through pregnancy. You are an awesome mom!
    ~Audrey

  3. #3 by radical7even on May 8, 2012 - 9:35 pm

    Time has surely flew by! 🙂
    -Danielle

  4. #4 by Venus on May 8, 2012 - 11:30 pm

    Hey Kels! Wow, I can’t believe you’re 33 weeks! Your due date will be here before you know it! I’m glad that you’re bonding w/ your son! I’m glad the pregnancy is going well!

  5. #5 by radical7even on May 13, 2012 - 10:25 pm

    Thanks guys! Renee it’s so funny how similarly our experiences have been with freaking out at first and then loving it and going the natural route. I’m so happy I was able to open up and embrace it. Soon I’ll really be opening up and embracing Elias literally.

Leave a Reply

