Battle with the Serpent~Audrey

It seems that every time I get my credit card paid off, something big happens. It always frustrates me that my car breaks down or my animal gets sick. But truly it’s a blessing that I am able to pay for emergencies. Last week was one of those emergencies.

On Monday, I notice that Tig, my barn cat, had a swollen wound with two puncture marks. I didn’t worry too much; we had just taken care of a paw puncture without vet intervention. But on Tuesday, the puncture wounds were black and smelly. Seeing this confirmed two things: 1) I had to get Tig to the vet and 2) he had tangled with a snake.

I haven’t had good luck with my pets lately. In the past two years, I’ve lost a dog, three cats, two ferrets and a horse. Each time I lose one of these friends it breaks my heart. So you can imagine how devastated I was as I rushed him to the vet tears pouring from my eyes. He was at the vet for three days, and they had to remove tissue and skin from his stomach. The poor thing’s scar pretty much bisected his stomach.

When I picked him up, he was as glad to see me as I was to see him. I wasn’t as happy to see the vet bill. It totaled $510, and I almost cried. I put the fees on my newly paid off credit card and took Tig home. He sat with me on the couch that night watching TV, and I knew he was worth every penny. I can only imagine what mothers with children must feel like. Tig had been dropped off in our barn last summer, and I knew God was telling me it was time to let another animal into my heart. As he nuzzled against me, he meant just as much to me as any man, friend or family member. Just because I had lost other pets didn’t mean I didn’t have more room in my heart for love.

That’s what I wish for you: always having room to love. No matter who dies, walks out, break ups or betrays you; still have room in your heart. Love like God; endlessly. No matter our sin or transgression he will forgive and continues to love us. He loves every person that dies and every baby that is born- his love his endless.

That’s what I took away from Tig’s battle with the serpent. We will get into tangles with sin and be caused wounds and pains, but we are still loved and some will take care of us. I strive to continue to love endless for the joys it brings and forgive the pain.

The godly care for their animals, but the wicked are always cruel. Proverbs 12:10 NLT

  1. #1 by Renee N. Chaffin on May 11, 2012 - 6:37 pm

    Beautiful story!!! I love the quote always have room for love. That’s very true when we close our heart off from love we allow beautiful moments like the one you had with Tig to be stolen from us. I’m sorry your bill was so high, I just paid off Daniels medical bills myself and that was super unfun 😦 but I thank God he’s healthy and although I didn’t want to pay the bill. I was able to 🙂 love you

  2. #2 by Venus on May 12, 2012 - 12:03 am

    Agreed beautiful story! I hate that you had to pay $510 for your cat medical bills! I’m glad that you have a pet that makes you happy! Tig almost look like the other cat you had. I’m glad Tig is doing better! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

