Heroes for my Children Part 1~Audrey

I recently read Heroes for My Son by Brad Meltzer and his follow up Heroes for my Daughter. Just picking up these books I was inspired. Before I read his book, I created a list of heroes for my children. A few heroes overlapped with those Meltzer shared and many were unique to me. I have chosen my top 15 heroes I want my kids to know. I will share with you, in five parts, people who have inspired me and, I hope, will inspire my children.

Christopher Reeve

Superman

He proved himself to truly be Superman. Though famous for his acting and role in the original Superman movies, it was a horse back riding accident that truly made him a hero. With the support of his wife Dana, he did not give up on life. He spoke at many rallies endorsing stem cell research and raised money for people with spinal cord injuries. He never gave up hope for a cure for himself and others. He also never forgot what difference a horse can make in the live of people. Through the Christopher and Dana Reeve Foundation, the Reeve name has supported many a therapeutic riding center including my own. He never gave up hope, because even if he couldn’t live to see a cure, through funding research, activities, and therapies maybe others could.

A hero is an ordinary individual who finds the strength to persevere and endure in spite of overwhelming obstacles.

Barack Obama

Barack Obama delivers a speech at the Universi...

Barack Obama delivers a speech at the University of Southern California (Video of the speech) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

We were a county fighting too many wars, in an economic clump, and paying over four dollars and a more for a gallon for regular gas. This country needed to be lifted up; we needed hope. Obama did that. Through his speeches he rallied the common man telling them that they could make a difference. You didn’t have to be rich; you didn’t have to be sitting on Capital Hill. You could help this country. American citizens got behind this and learned to hope. Though we still have wars and our economy hasn’t gotten in a full upswing, Obama gave us the gift of hope and a reminder that we can make a difference. Sometimes hope is all you need.

Change will not come if we wait for some other person or some other time. We are the ones we’ve been waiting for. We are the change we seek.

Helen Keller

Helen Keller. Français : Helen Keller.

Helen Keller. Français : Helen Keller. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

She inspired me from a young age. She was blind and deaf but learned to speak, read, write, and many more accomplishments. I was fascinated that people with disabilities could live full, happy, accomplished lives.  She went past all limits and barriers that people set for her. As I got older I tried to remember this: she achieved so much because she had the right teacher.  A teacher who cared and saw her potential.  This inspired me daily as I strive to let my riders have the kind of life Helen was able to achieve.

Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all.

  1. #1 by Renee N. Chaffin on May 19, 2012 - 12:05 pm

    Beautiful post! I’m def inspired. Thanks so much for sharing

  2. #2 by Venus on May 20, 2012 - 3:21 am

    Great heroes Audrey! ~Venus

  3. #3 by Danielle on May 21, 2012 - 2:21 pm

    Love this post!!

  1. Heroes for my Children-Part 2~Audrey « radical7even
  2. Heroes For My Children Part 4~Audrey « radical7even
  3. Heroes for my Children Part 5~Audrey « radical7even

Leave a Reply

