To a Special Horseback Rider~Audrey

J,

It’s been seven years. You were just eleven when I started teaching you. Now you’re 18 and graduating high school. You’re growing up and moving away leaving an ache in my heart.

I am so proud of everything you’ve accomplished. When you got out of your wheelchair and walked across that stage at graduation, I cried. The strength and perseverance that you showed in those few steps across the stage is one of the most powerful things I’ve ever seen. You’ve been like this always. You’ve never let your disability get the best of you. You’ve always smiled, laughed, and loved. You do so many activities and have so many dreams.

You are one of the most affectionate people I know. You never left a lesson without giving me a hug and telling me what I meant to you. You put complete trust in me and did anything I asked in lessons. Your constant banter kept me, the other riders, and your volunteers entertained.

When you told me that I was the reason you were able to walk, I replied that I could only partially take the credit. You worked so hard on achieving the goal. Then you replied that you couldn’t have done it with me. I am so moved to have played such a major role in your life.

At your last lesson, after I put you on Tex, I cried. But then I put my energy into your surprise party. I am so glad you loved your photo album with the pictures that went from the beginning of you lessons to just a few months ago. I like how hard you tried not to cry until you read my note. As I held you as you sobbed, all I could do was cry too.

You were one of my first rides, and you have a special place in my heart. I love you dearly and will miss you immensely.

Good luck on the future and I hope you accomplished all your dreams! I will never forget you.

Lots and lots of love,

Audrey

  1. #1 by Venus on June 10, 2012 - 2:06 am

    Aww this is so sweet Audrey!! This is a beautiful post!! I’m glad that he or she walked across the stage despite of their disability! =) Glad you were able to share those yrs with them and see them grow up! Love you! ~Venus

  2. #2 by radical7even on June 11, 2012 - 3:13 pm

    This entire blog had me teary eyed. Your job is such a wonderful blessing to the riders that have come through your organization. Thank God for you and people like you. You make a difference in every life you touch. Love you sweet lady

Leave a Reply

