The Simple Guide to Witnessing –Danielle G.–

June 28 of 2010, I officially fell in love with kids. Sure, I had been around kids practically all my life-little cousins, nieces nephews. However, none of that compares to loving someone that you’ve never seen, to pretty much be involved from the beginning, from the naming to the birth to all of his major milestones. Daniel taught me how to be an interactive role model.

With everything that Daniel has taught me, it allowed me to fall in love with my niece Zariah instantly. She is so full of energy and she has this quick smile that lights up the whole room. She has also given me a crash course on witnessing. She simple does exactly what she sees me or anyone that stays in ther house with her. If I clear my throat, she clears hers. If I tell her SHHH!, she shushes me, with extra saliva of course. If I mop, she wants to hold the handle. This is how I view the essentials of witnessing. It is not what  I say, it’s what I do. She makes me more aware of my actions. I’m more cautious about what I say, what I watch, even what I eat because I want her to have a solid foundation to draw from

I can’t expect Zariah to be this model citizen if she sees me breaking the law. As I grow more mature, it gives me a greater appreciation for children and we as adults have a great responsibilitry tro serve as a good witness for our younger counterparts.

 

Children are a heritage from the Lord,     offspring a reward   from him. 4 Like arrows   in the hands of a warrior     are children born in one’s youth. 5 Blessed is the man     whose quiver is full of them. They will not be put to shame     when they contend with their opponents   in court.  ~Psalms 127:3-5 (NIV)

6 Start   children off on the way they should go,     and even when they are old they will not turn from it.  ~Proverbs 22:6

Steadily PUSHing,

Dani G. 

 

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on June 9, 2012 - 3:37 pm

    Lovely post! We often forget that not just children but everyone is watching everything we do. I am so happy for your bonding experience with children;they truly are God’s greatest gift!
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by Venus on June 10, 2012 - 2:11 am

    Aww this is so sweet!! Daniel is blessed to have you as his godmother!! I know you love him so much! I think its cute that your niece tries to imitate you! That’s what kids do!! I’m glad you love the kids! =) Love you! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

