Ask and ye Shall Receive~Audrey

In a previous post (you can read it here: https://radical7even.wordpress.com/2012/01/16/playing-dress-upaudrey/), I mentioned issues at work and needing armor from God so I could succeed. I needed help dealing with my anger, with my new position, and life in general. I prayed for guidance, for strength, for less stress. I hadn’t realized what he had gifted me with until I read this verse:

 Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.  And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people. Ephesians 6:13-18

The belt of truth has reminded me to love while the breastplate of righteous has reminded me to have self respect. Shoes of peace have calmed me, and the shield of faith has strengthened my trust. The helmet of salivation has made it clear that I am dear to God as the sword of the spirit: has given me integrity.

All these pieces have added up to peace. I am learning to deal with anger and conflict in a healthy way, but not given up who I am (loving and peaceful but violent and brash). Glory be to God who deemed fit to outfit me in this arm that I requested.

  1. #1 by Venus on June 27, 2012 - 5:47 am

    Amen! We have to put on the armor of God everyday! Everyday has a new challenge. I’m glad the verse helped you!

Leave a Reply

