Rejection –Danielle–

Rejection is a horrible feeling and in my case I always take rejection personally–like somehow this is all my fault. I recently had a job interview, that in my opinion, seemed like a dream job. It was a newly created position, what they were looking for I had previous experience in, they even called my references BEFOREHAND. I felt like it was God given.I went to the interview early, really trying to let go of any doubt I had and give it to God. After the interview, I didn’t feel entirely confident but I felt well enough to get a call back. Unfortunately, I didn’t, I got that good ole’ rejection letter–you know, the one that said that you were good but they decided to go with someone else.

After that letter, I had a good cry then the self blame began to occur. What was it about me that me not be a good candidate? Was it my weight? My race? My gap? To be totally honest, I felt the light inside grow dim. I graduated in 2010 and its been such a struggle to get a professional stronghold and everyday without a job feels like one day further away from ever reaching my dreams.

Even with that setback, my God never left me and everyday he is sending me encouragement. There’s a saying,” Every No is one step closer to Yes.” I am currently reading the latest issue of the Essence magazine (which is a great read by the way) which focuses on young, black & amazing women all across the United States–some as young as 18. These women are tenacious and driven and I am sure they’ve all had rejection but that hasn’t stopped them from trying and that’s the true lesson–Learning to get up, no matter how hard the fall or even how often you fall. I am currently praying to the Lord to lead me in the direction that he wants me to go and how I can better use the gifts he has given me.

I want to leave you with a quote from Nia Long’s Interview in Essence:

“We underestimate the lives we can provide for ourselves. As women, if we can imagine the life we want to live, we can have that. We’re magicians, we’re conjurers, we can manifest the kinds of lives we always dreamed of having.”

Still Pushing,

 

Dani G.

  1. #1 by Venus on July 7, 2012 - 8:34 pm

    Hey Dani! I’m glad you wrote your blog! I hate you didn’t get the job! =( Know that God has something better for you! Rejection letters and not receiving call backs suck! Continue to keep looking and don’t give up! You’re not less talented because you didn’t get the job. I know about the job struggle after college all too well! I’m trying to transition into to professional field..Not sure when that is going to happen…lol.. Btw I love Essence!! That’s my favorite magazine!! I’ll continue to pray for you! Love you! ~Venus

  2. #2 by starsinhereye on July 10, 2012 - 3:19 am

    Love that quote! I also can’t wait to see the wonderful thing God has in store for you! I know it’s easy to blame yourself ( I do it too), but just know God has an amazing plan for you! Keep laughing; keep pushing!
    ~Audrey

Leave a Reply

