Take Possession! ~Venus

On Sunday, I watched a church service online. I love to watch church services from Word of Faith Family Worship Cathedral in Austell, GA. Bishop Dale Bronner is the pastor of that church. Their pastor was out of town and Dr. Ricky Temple was the guest pastor on Sunday.  Dr. Ricky Temple’s sermon was  “Frustrated by the Giants in My Life”. The scriptures he used for his sermon were Numbers 13:1-33 and Numbers 14:1-4 (read all of Chapter 14). His sermon in a nutshell was about the 10 spies going to spy out the land of Canaan. They gave a report describing how good the land was but there was a problem. They were afraid of the people in the land (those were the giants). He talked about how we should take possession over the giants that are in our lives.

So what are your giants? Some of my giants are job opportunities, believing in myself, and fear. I’m trying to push myself to overcome these things. I’m doing a lot in my sorority and it helps me to deal with my fears as well. I’m a director of  2 programs, a member of 2 committees in my sorority, and I’m active w/ one of my soror’s ministry. I’m put in a position where I have to talk to people  and be in the spotlight.  I’m more of a behind the scenes person so this is kind of different for me. I can honestly say I’m out my comfort zone!! I also volunteer w/ a clinic on a monthly basis as a client advocate. I’m happy to say that I’m getting better as being a client advocate. =) I have to become more knowledgeable about pregnancy, STI’s and community resources so I can better serve my clients. I want to encourage everyone to conquer their “giants”! Its not going to be easy! Its going to be a fight but you can have a victory! Praise God! GO OUT & TAKE POSSESSION OF THAT LAND (your promised land) !!! God bless!!

~Venus

  1. #1 by Renee N. Chaffin on July 15, 2012 - 2:13 am

    Love this! I was just talking to Dani about this today. Looking at things in the natural will stop you from moving forward. We must have our spiritual eyes

  2. #2 by Venus on July 16, 2012 - 5:53 am

    Hey Nee!! I’m glad you enjoyed the post! I find it funny that ya’ll was talking about the topic! That is true what you said about spiritual eyes and looking at things in the natural. I struggle w/ looking at things w/ my natural eye and not my “spiritual eyes”. I know that I have to walk by faith and not by sight! Love you! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

