On being Radical

Whoa…so I haven’t blogged in quite some time but I am happy to announce that my non blogging is by no means a reflection of how I am doing or a measure of my dedication to continually finding ways to praise! I am still actively devoted to doing radical things and being radical in general although I don’t always write about it. One thing that I have noticed is my definition of radical has changed somewhat, especially now that I have been reflecting on the past year. Last year at this time I was in a very dark place and I could not even envision how things would get better especially for my health. It’s been over a decade since I have known a pain free life and believe me when I say it when you are at your highest pain level it’s difficult to see past all of that. While I am talking about physical pain, I think it’s safe to say that emotional pain can be that way as well. Things have turned around significantly and I am thankful for that. Now everything is radical in my eyes because I am acutely aware of tough times (since I have been reflecting alot)and those days gone by serve as reminders that God is in the restoring business. He can take any situation and work it out for your good. So I am thankful for the small mercies with an understanding that radical is relative. I encourage you to take any step forward no matter how tiny as something radical. I say this because you could have made a choice to nothing. Did you reconnect with someone from your past and let go of some hurt? Radical. Did you have a bad day but managed to smile and be pleasant to everyone you came in contact with? Radical? Did you send a friend a  text to check in? Radical. Did you pray for someone else? Radical. This list can go on forever but I want you to remember that everything that you do that brings you closer to God and further exemplifies his works is radical.

One day at a time,

Gem

  1. #1 by Venus on July 16, 2012 - 5:51 am

    Hey Gem!! I’m so HAPPY to see a post from you! I’m glad that you’re doing radical things on your own!! Praise God for the turn around he has done in your life!!! Love you! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

