Double Blessing-Renee`

I had every intention of blogging last week, but for some odd reason I didn’t. I even downloaded the WordPress app on my cell so I have zero excuse for missing my blogs now.. *shrugs shoulders*

SO..I will do three blogs (or attempt to) one to make up for last week. This weeks blog and I think..one for next week LOL

Anywho-Radical moment: I recently switched my son’s daycare-not because the daycare did anything wrong, but because I have always wanted him in a learning center. He loves to “talk” and at 2 he has a pretty decent vocabulary and recently has started doing imaginary play (where he pretends a ball on his hand is ice cream and his hand is a cone LOL) which I read usually starts around 3, so whoop whoop we are ahead of the curve. The decision to move him was difficult. He had been attending that daycare since he was 6 weeks old and now almost two years later I would switch him..those daycare workers were there during my bout with the febrile seizure.. at one point when my AmeriCorps childcare payment was super late did not kick him out of daycare which allowed me to continue working. They were all good Christian people, but alas I wanted more. I want Daniel to have every imaginable opportunity that the Lord can have me provide for him. The new daycare is slightly cheaper, has a curriculum AND provides breakfast,lunch and snack. Win-win. It took awhile for him to adjust and the cries when I dropped him off and the “noooooooooooo mommy” nos almost broke my heart, but as his parent it is my obligation to him to do what I believe is best interest even when he doesn’t understand. You see Daniel was perfectly fine with his other daycare, but I was ready for him to elevate (and little did he know-he was too), but change is scary and this is not something I could help him do. I couldn’t stay with him all day and ease him into the process-I did have several conversations with him telling him he was going on a new adventure. And when I dropped him off assured him that I would be back soon. But overall he would have to endure this new journey without mommy.

This is the same thing my Heavenly Father does as well. He sees when I am becoming lax with my walk or when I need to be pushed further.. and as my Father He has an obligation to push me to be the best ME that He made me to be. Daniel has so many of my attributes it tickles me, so his reaction to a situation is very similar to how I would react to change LOL. So putting Daniel in an environment that would cause him to grow is a blessing for he and I. A double blessing if you will-so the next time I am faced with a challenge I can remember my son. Who endured a change that he couldn’t understand, just because his mommy knew he needed more. It will comfort me, when my Father does the same to me

Lessons Learned,

Renee

  1. #1 by Venus on July 22, 2012 - 5:28 am

    Hey Nee! I wonder who he got his “talkative” quality from? lol..I’m proud of you for doing what is best for him! I know it was hard for him to adjust to the new daycare and for you to see him disliking the change at first. At the end of the day, you did what was in his best interest! =) I’m glad he is so advanced! He is truly growing up! It seems like he new daycare is awesome and that it will teach him more! It’s overall a better environment for him! =) Love you!

  2. #2 by starsinhereye on July 23, 2012 - 4:56 pm

    Poor Daniel! But he will come to adjust. It’s something I was trying to tell my brother about his ankle this weekend, we have to do things that are a little bit painful to fully grow and become better people. Congrats on you being strong while he cried. After working at a daycare, I know that can be heart breaking. A curriculm and provides the food? Score!
    ~Audrey

Leave a Reply

