Pulled Rugs-Renee`

It’s always the rug you’ve been sweeping things under that gets pulled out from under you-Joe Bannerman

Lately, I have been dealing with a situation that is very close to my heart, attempting to love my enemy so to speak. I don’t think I necessarily have people out there plotting against me so to speak, but I have a few that just refuse to get on the same page with me. I’ve tried praying before, during and after interaction with a certain individual and no matter how I’ve been the results are always the same-frustration,anger and confusion.

I tend to hide my true feelings, because I feel that my feelings weren’t very Christ-like, I am to be peaceful, easy-going, because that is how God would have us to be. For the most part I believe that is true, but I also believe that there are times when God calls you to take a stand. That stand might be very unpopular, but if you have God in your corner you will win in the end. My dad has a saying that I think can be appropriate “even the children of Israel had to draw swords”-meaning there are times it is necessary to fight-not usually physically but this can be metaphoric as well.

I am not going to “fight” my enemy, but I am taking a stand that certain boundaries are not to be tampered with-let alone crossed. I wont be disrespectful, but I will be firm. Not dealing with an issue, sweeping it under the rug so to speak, does not help you and it definitely does not help the other person doing the offending. Communication is vitally important and if you continue to live in silence then the behavior is more than likely going to continue. Not saying that talking will fix everything (like I said I’ve been doing ALOT of that) but it let’s you know what that other person is willing to do, or not do after you express how you feel. After that make sure you follow through with whatever you verbally told the other person. For example, if you have a “friend” that speaks twice a year and only to borrow money and you feel used…speak up about the situation. 1) you are enabling this person-not helping them and 2) you have the right to set boundaries for yourself.

Now with anything I write I will say first pray about the situation and ask how God would lead you. If you feel that boundaries need to be set, yet you’re afraid of upsetting the other person-pray that have an open mind and then pray for peace and courage as you press through. There are some situations God will tell you to specifically NOT address-follow Him. BUT on those occasions when HE tells you to move-please do so. You deserve respect.

Cleaning house,

Renee`

  1. #1 by Venus on July 22, 2012 - 5:17 am

    Hey Nee! I’ll be praying for you! I’m kind of the same way (hiding my true feelings) especially when I’m angry. Even though we are to be Christ-like, we are human. I’m glad you are taking a stand! You can’t control other people actions, but you can control yours. I’m proud of you for creating those boundaries! I know sometimes I sweep things under the rug because I don’t want to deal with them right then. I agree that communication is important! Silence is deadly. Sometimes people are silent because they think it will be easier to deal w/ the situation..Like you said, that makes things worse! I know how it is to have a friend just contact you when they want something! Smh! Thanks for the advice at the end of the post! Love you!!
    ~Venus

  2. #2 by starsinhereye on July 23, 2012 - 4:52 pm

    As I am sure you have read, there is a time for everything. Remember when you let God move you and go to him, they are Christ like. Good look with everything! As always, praying for you!
    ~Audrey

  1. Sweeping life under the rug | Madeline Scribes

Leave a Reply

