***Jesus Said So*** by Pam

Most people that know me know that I have adopted 7 kids. When people first find out the reaction is almost comical. Mouths agape, you can see the mind searching through the “hows” and “whys” for a verbal response. Some need more help and have to voice the questions. Others come to a conclusion of either “I could not handle that many.” or Wow, that is so good of you to do!”  Neither response is accurate. Anyone could do this but it’s not easy with this many. Secondly, we are not good because it is so easy to love these kids. No different from the bond that I have with one I gave birth to. Not having them would destroy me. The next question is always, “What made you want to do this?” I usually say something that people understand. My Mamaw grew up in foster care. We have a lot of adopted people in our family. My aunt was a foster parent. My friends were adopted. Really though it did not start with these. I always knew I would adopt and dreamed of the day I would. I have read about adoption and the earliest examples are in the Bible. I never hear people talk about them but they are there. I will give you the one that stands out the most to me because Jesus himself ordered it.

“When Jesus saw his mother there, and the disciple whom he loved standing nearby, he said to his mother, “Dear woman, here is your son,” and to the disciple, “Here is your mother.” From that time on, this disciple took her into his home”

John 19:26-27 NIV

That to me is a perfect example. Love is given by the Lord. No DNA test needed. Now I will apply that to my pet peeve. What makes someone your real mom or dad? Not DNA. Love, being there for better or worse, and commitment. How do I know that? Jesus said so.

  1. #1 by Venus on July 28, 2012 - 7:29 pm

    Amen! Awesome post Pam! It takes a special person to be a foster parent! I know that you love your kids! =)

  2. #2 by Michael Moore on July 28, 2012 - 7:55 pm

    Thank you for teaching me this Biblical example… And most of all, thank you for being you 🙂

  3. #3 by Gem on July 29, 2012 - 5:01 am

    Great Post Pam!! Thank you so much for blessing me with this. I’m delighted and honored to know such a wonderful person like you. I love that you family is a shining example of Jesus’ love.

  4. #4 by Renee N. Chaffin on July 29, 2012 - 12:43 pm

    This is a beautifully moving post! HIS is another example of an adopted family-we all adopted each other and I don’t see you as anything but family. In Gods eyes we are all sisters and brothers;its why we are to demonstrate HIS love to all! Love u

  5. #5 by starsinhereye on July 30, 2012 - 4:06 pm

    Great verse! Prayers for you and your family always!
    ~Audrey

Leave a Reply

