Asking all them questions-Renee`

I am coming up on my last year and a half of grad classes (I think) and I am still unsure what my career looks like. I am currently in non-profit which I love, but I never knew what my “non profit” job would look like. I have done everything from account executive for United Way, Boys and Girls Club Education Director, assistant at the Montgomery Humane Society, AmeriCorps VISTA working with teens, to Housing Relocation Coordinator to now Family Advocate. And i’ve loved every job; like literally loved it. Were there hard times, better believe it, but every day when I go to work I know that I am positively influencing someone’s life. It is a wonderful blessing and curse, being there on the cusp of someone’s worst day can wear on you. BUT I find it an absolute pleasure to be there in that gap to serve as a support system.

The only issue is…classes don’t really put you on the career path; someone with a sociology degree, or medical degree or science degree can do a million and one different things..and I guess I am trying to figure out what my “one” thing is. I never even heard of a family advocate until I became one. I’ve learned so much about the heart of people and how wonderfully hopeful God has made us. How people even at the lowest have given me life “gems” that I don’t think I will ever forget..those are lessons I didn’t learn in a class room.

As I come to the “end”, well should I say halfway “end” LOL of my program  I still wonder how my degree will lead me down an even bigger path than what I currently have. Where will I end up?…still trying to see about one day opening up my own business..but what will that business look like..where will it be? *shrugs* I still don’t know.

What’s radical for me??

Figuring out my career path

Cracking open a book,

Renee`

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on July 31, 2012 - 5:29 pm

    I am so proud of all the steps you are taking to attain your dreams! I am sure God will let you know what you are meant to do at the right time. Could be he wants to focus on getting school done, and then your career will magically appear! I will pray for you school, your career, and for you!
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by Venus on July 31, 2012 - 6:18 pm

    Hey Nee!! WOW YOU HAVE DONE A LOT!!! I’m proud of you! I’m glad that you loved the jobs you had! It’s better to love your jobs than to hate them! I agree w/ Audrey that God will let you know what you are meant to do! Continue to seek him and pray! Stay focused! Love you!

Leave a Reply

