Going for the Gold

As I sit and watch the Olympics, I am in complete awe. I am especially inspired by the USA Women’s Gymnastics team. I grew up loving that sport. Whenever they competed, I was there in front of the TV. Their passion for the sport, the level of focus and discipline they exuded, I wanted that. Up until tonight, I never appreciated what that meant. Here are young girls, very younger than me, being so dedicated to one thing… mastering gymnastics to a level of greatness that many fail to work towards. But they had a goal in mind. They wanted to win the gold… they wanted to be known as the best. So, they did whatever it took to win it. Wow! What dedication.

Now. what about me? Have I ever been so dedicated to anything? No. Why? It all boils down to fear. Fear is one of the things that has controlled much of my life. My first memory of letting fear get to me was when I was about five. I was scared to cross the monkey bars. Why? I have no clue. Even today, I get nervous just hanging on the bars when I am outdoors playing with my students. Fear of failure and fear of success has definitely left me with a life of mediocrity. Though I have accomplished some things in my life, it is no where near what I could have accomplished if only I had taken a leap of faith. I want to have Micheal Phelps mentality, whatever I do I either want to be the first or the best. But will I be dedicated to such a goal? I guess the future will tell by the seeds I plant with now.

No matter where you are in life, even if it is not where you want to be, be the best!

Reaching for the gold,

Bey

  1. #1 by Renee N. Chaffin on August 1, 2012 - 2:00 pm

    Hey Bey,
    I agree with your sentiment about fear. I believe that those who have succeeded did so not because they didn’t have the fear but that they pushed beyond it. Which is really what Christ has always tried to get His followers to do. Follow Him, keep your eyes on the prize and all else will fall into place. thanks for the reminder. love you

  2. #2 by starsinhereye on August 4, 2012 - 5:52 pm

    I understand fear, but you grow in Christ your fear will diminish. I used to be scared of everything, and though I havn’t faced all my fears, I have faced many. I will continue to pray you! Keep reaching for the gold!
    ~Audrey

  3. #3 by Venus on August 6, 2012 - 1:05 am

    Hey BB!! I’m so HAPPY to see a post from you! I haven’t seen one from you in a while! The USA Women’s Gymnastics team are AWESOME!! I’m so proud of them! I love your post! I feel you on the fear! I struggle w/ that too! Praying for you!! Btw I love Audrey’s and Renee’s comments! Love you! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

