Houston we have communication-Renee

This week has been very interesting to say the least, in both good and..hm. not so good ways, but mostly good.

First the good: Daniel, my big boy is just thriving he is catching on to potty training and everyday I get to celebrate a new spirit of independence and skills he is developing. I am just so proud of the big boy he is becoming.

Semi-bad: Work had me extremely stressed out this week.My caseload has grown I am dealing with people who have multi-problematic issues going on and that can really weigh on a person in the helping profession. This is compounded by the fact that there are limited resources to help people. I liked when resources were more readily available and I could tell someone facing let’s say homelessness that they could call this number and *boom* homelessness was prevented. But as of late many resources are tapped out and all i can tell the stressed out caller is..here’s a list of resources I cannot guarantee that they have any funds, but I hope it helps. And just be an ear to listen to their frustrations. That has caused me to go home many a day and just 1) Thank God for His grace, because I am no better than anyone calling in and asking for help. I could very easily be the one in need of resources.  2) just pile all those negative feelings on me..which is what I was doing. I was literally like mentally exhausted everyday. I had to ask my girls for prayer and really put into practice some mental self-care. I can’t be effective if I allow myself to be pulled down; so I ask for special prayer and work hard on being extra patient and kind to those going through an issue while placing good boundaries for myself.

Bad:I found out that I am also one that can some times live in a pessimistic mindset. I had an issue arise this week and I was just freaking out about the outcome, what I should say etc etc. I thank God for Godly counsel and people who really love and support me esp during my freak out moments. Communication is a tough spot for me like I’ve said before I have no problem “talking”, but true communication requires you to give of yourself and listen intentionally and purposefully to another person..which requires work esp. if that person says something you might not like or agree with. BUT I have really been opening myself up to having more intimate dealings with others. It’s funny how when you speak on intimacy many will automatically think of sex (which sex can be a form of intimacy, but is not always). But true intimacy is allowing your true, unadulterated, blemished self connect deeply and purposefully with another person. Which I think is an art missing in society.  People are not intimately and purposefully connecting with other. So I’ve been working on having more intimate conversations and it has really challenged and changed my world view.

chit-chat

Renee`

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on August 10, 2012 - 11:10 pm

    Love your point on intamacy. Not enough people realize that these days. I am so proud of how much you have opened up this last year; you are blossoming. I will pray for you, your work, and yoru pessimistic mind.
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by Venus on August 12, 2012 - 2:49 am

    Hey Nee!! I’m proud of Daniel! He is learning and growing! Like I told you before, all you can do is your best (referring to helping people). I definitely understand being stressed out about work! Pray for your clients in your spare time! Your prayers can help them! Yes, please take care of yourself not only mentally, but spiritually and physically. I will keep you in my prayers! I’m glad that you’re learning on how to communicate effectively. I agree w/ what you said about true intimacy and communication! I’m proud of you on opening up and your growth! Love you!

Leave a Reply

