Report Card for Pam

School for my kids begins on Monday. For the first time all of mine will be in school. No baby at home anymore. I am relieved and also anxious. My oldest boy, Ethan, will start middle school next year. I am obsessing about whether he will be ready. Not so much academically as socially. Middle school was brutal as I remember it. Kids will torture you just for pleasure. I want him to be confident, slow to anger, and sure of his own morals. As I write about this, there is a knot in my stomach. While seven of my children are beginning to work on their goals for the next 9 months, it is time to see how I did on my year in the Radical7even journey. Let’s just get right to my report card.

1.Stop abusing my body.- I lost 20 pounds through diet and physical activity. Pass.

2.Read my Bible daily.-Honestly, I did not do that. I did, however, meditate on the scriptures I had read at the recommendation of a family member. I learned to really savor the meaning and inspiration of those verses like I had not in the past. I cannot tell you how valuable that piece of advice was to me. It sounds so simple but it made a profound difference for me. Still, I need to make time to do this everyday. Fail.

3. Give blood.- My doctor did not give me the go ahead for this. Fail.

4.Write to the people who spiritually inspired me over the years.-I wrote one person. I am not sure why it is so hard for me to do. Just could not find the right words. Fail.

5. Become nature’s caretaker.- I did not stick with the recycling as intended. I did do a vast amount of plant and animal care. Most of that was done at the nursery where I work. Overall, it was more than I have done any other year. Pass

6. Learn carpentry from my dad.- When his schedule was not jam packed, his was. We just do not get one on one project time with a family our size. Fail.

7.Social time with adults.- It seems like such an easy thing for most people but for me it is not. Hugely important though. Except for the month that a virus went through my household, I did fairly well eventually. Pass.

So I passed 3 and failed 4. That sounds weak when you look at it but this year I have grown so much more than I would have without these goals and the encouragement of my sisters. I know what areas I need to improve and what I need to achieve next year because of the things I learned about myself this year. I am inspired and ready for the things I will learn in my next set of goals. Have a blessed week!

  1. #1 by Venus on August 15, 2012 - 4:23 am

    Hey Pam! Wow, that’s a lot to deal with (all your kids being in school). I hope everything goes well! All you can do is try to prepare Ethan for middle school. It’s a lot different of course from elementary.I hope that he will adjust well! I’m proud of your growth! Kudos to you for accomplishing some of your goals! You have next yr to accomplish the ones you failed! Wait, you still have a little more time left to accomplish the failed ones (I just thought about it lol). =)

  2. #2 by Renee N. Chaffin on August 15, 2012 - 5:21 am

    I think its unfair to do a pass or fail system,because so many other factors came up,like you not being able to donate blood. I’m sure you would have if allowed to. Learning carpentry requires coordination of schedules which is always a feat for you with so many people depending on you. I think you’ve. Done incredibly well and I def see the growth! I’m so excited to be on this journey with u and HIS

  3. #3 by starsinhereye on August 16, 2012 - 1:36 pm

    I am proud of what you have accomplished! And don’t worry too much about what you didn’t do; you still have six more years if those goals are important to you. Plus, I don’t think you should say fail on the blood thing. It’s not your fault and you attempted but were advised not too and that went along with your goal to not abuse your body! Love you!
    ~Audrey

Leave a Reply

