1st year down, 6 more to go!!!!

HEY HEY HEEEEYYY!!!!
Today, I am officially writing my end of the year check-in.

Goals 1: finish the Old Testament. Did not accomplish, but is still a work in progress.I was doing well until I started reading 1st and 2nd Kings. It’s funny, I can tell the difference between the authors of the Bible depending on how well and how fast I finish a book in the Bible. But yes, I will continue with this goal because I want to read the Bible in its entirety.

Goal 2: Find a cause to support. I definitely create an event to support the Trayvon Martin case, but I haven’t really found a particular issue to really support. So, I guess I am still a woman in searching.

Goal 3: Create a recipe book. Yea, did not happen! lol! I have been lacking in funds and time to put into this effort.

Goal 4: Keep a design Portfolio. I am happy to say that I am keeping a portfolio. I have an online photography portfolio that I just love! I am hoping to continue with this hobby.

Goal 5: Read at least two books a month. I am up to one book a month. That’s good compared to the fact that I didn’t read books at all when I started this journey.

Goal 6: Get physically fit. Failed! No excuses!

Goal 7: Decorate my bedroom and bathroom. I bought a few things to go on my wall in my room, but nothing elaborate like I wanted it to be.

Overall, it seems that I did not accomplish many of my goals. I could be depressed about it, but I am not. I am just grateful I got through this year. I survived working in retail for the holiday season; I overcame some physical issues; plus, I overcame my fear of being in a car accident… not by choice of course! This year had more downs than ups, but I stand here declaring my faith stronger. I trust God more now than I have ever did in my entire life. Satan attacked me from every angle he could. Though he may have won some of the battles, he did not win the war. I learned a lot about myself. What I am capable of… good and bad. Most importantly, I learned not to test God. Period!

For many years, I thought I could do it all by myself. Take care or me and everybody else. This year proved to me that I am only human. I am not the superwoman I thought I was. Though it saddens me some, the burden of always needing to carry every burden has been lifted. I am only 23. Why am I carrying so much on me? It is time to reevaluate my life and make many adjustments. This year brought an epiphany: I need to refocus my life. So, I am dedicating my second year of this journey to do this.

Thank God for grace and mercy. I am forever grateful for all the many blessings He bestowed upon me this year!
Humbled,

Bey

  1. #1 by Venus on August 26, 2012 - 5:35 am

    HEY BB!!! I’m glad you did an update on your goals! Well hey you accomplished a few of them so good job! =) I’m proud of your growth! Love you! ~Venus

  2. #2 by Danielle on August 27, 2012 - 2:39 pm

    I loved your update…I guess I kinda need to do mine..lol

  3. #3 by starsinhereye on August 27, 2012 - 3:27 pm

    Congrats on your goals! But I am more excited to hear about how your and God’s relationship is changing. Welcome to the Human Club! Love you girl!
    ~Audrey

  4. #4 by Renee N. Chaffin on August 28, 2012 - 7:07 pm

    This year has been one wild ride huh? I am so glad that you have come through with flying colors. I want to say that this whole experience is more about the entire journey as a whole and not just a checklist of our successes or failures. I am glad you’ve taken the positive route 🙂

  5. #5 by radical7even on August 30, 2012 - 3:06 am

    Yay for all the progress! I think you did extremely well so no pass or fail necessary. Seriously Bey you are hands down a superwoman. I love you…Gem

Leave a Reply

