A year later- ***GEM***

That time has arrived!  I have spent a great deal of time reflecting on the past year and how far I have come. When I started this journey it took every ounce of my energy to not only set goals but to commit myself to overhauling my life in a way that I had not previously considered. The goals were very helpful in motivating me to trust God more. I knew that i could not do anything without God’s grace because last year at this time I was literally starting from the ground up. So let’s take a look at how it all worked out.

 
Goal #1- Better manage my stress level/anxiety and need for control 
I think that I have done very well on managing my stress level. I really tried to do the “everything happens for a reason” thing when it came to pretty much every single thing that happened in my day. I know that God will not allow something to happen if he did not want it to happen to me or more importantly FOR me. I started to change my mind about how I viewed “bad” days or disappointment. I completely ceased trying to plan things out. This is not to say that I don’t continue to set goals. I am just now more accepting of the fact that the only constant thing in life is the fact that things change. I am less likely to “freak out” if things don’t go as planned and I am patient about how and when things unfold. All in all I would say I am just trusting God more and when you trust God more it takes the stress of of you trying to figure out what to do.
Goal #2- Be more open to change
 
This is also a goal that I have done well on. After going through a number of changes I think the transformation around me was nothing compared to the transformation within me. I have a view about things not staying the same and I can now appreciate all the changed that took place in my life. I know this sounds ridiculously cliche but I am a better woman for it. I am more open to change because I now see it as a way to learn and grow and a way to encounter varying opportunities that I may not have otherwise had. I know that you never know how much your life can change if you are still doing the same thing in the same place at the same time…all the time.
 
Goal #3- Exploring alternative methods to improving health 
 
I have done pretty well with this goal. I have not been on any prescription pain medication for an entire year! I have stuck to my herbal/vitamin regime and continue to research alternative ways to manage migraines. Currently take Feverfew,ginger,magnesium an b-complex. I take a specific vitamin combo called Migralief and it has been amazing. My pain levels have decreased significantly and while I still experience a chronic daily headache , I am back to being able to function much better on a daily basis. I am still hopeful for the day that I wake up pain free. I know it will happen. I just do.

Goal #4- Reaching out to other people more
I have done ok on this goal. I used to be ashamed to ask people to pray for me or indicate that I was struggling but I am not anymore. Some days are better than others so instead of saying I’m great when really I could use a hug , I just admit that I am not doing too well and I readily ask for prayer and for people to send me good vibes. I try to text friends an family more to let them know that I am thinking of them. I try to send cards and note cards as often as I can. Also now that I am feeling better emotionally, physically and spiritually I just enjoy getting out of the house more. I have spent more time with my girls since I moved than when I was living close by.
Goal #5-Paying off my two credit cards
 
I have not paid off my credit cards but I have also not charged anything. So that’s a good think. This will be one of my goals that I will recycle for sure!!
Goal #6-Get my own place
 
I had not lived with a family member in almost a decade! So it was very tough for me to move in with family and have to be so dependent. I thank God for my uncle and aunt who were emptynesters and allowed me to stay for 6 looooong months. That was my limit, lol. I prayed and asked God to help me find the right job with the right pay to be able to live in a safe neighborhood. God’s grace has been in abundance because the way my job and housing situation came together can only be explained by his goodness and mercy. I am so grateful.
Goal # 7 Widen my palette
 
My goal was to begin to cook new things because the idea of eating out more and going to restaurants to try new foods was scary because of my allergy. I did not really cook new things and stuck to what I already knew how to cook. I however ate a wide variety of Guyanese home cooked food because my mom is here for the summer and pretty much cooked everyday. Now that she is leaving I have to begin to cook again so this is also a goal that I will be recycling. I am proud to say that I have incorporated more green vegetables to my diet something that I just was NOT a fan of. I have a diary free recipe book that believe it or not is still is my storage closet in a books of books. I have still not completely unpacked in my house! I am excited about attempting this goal once again.
I feel very blessed to have been able to move in God’s grace over the past year.
Still taking it one day at a time,
Gem
  1. #1 by Renee N. Chaffin on August 29, 2012 - 6:21 pm

    I am sooo proud of you for eating green things! LOL I remember our conversations on that! You had some really amazing goals and had some wonderful progress. I cannot wait to see what God brings to you next yr 🙂

  2. #2 by Venus on August 30, 2012 - 7:13 am

    Hey Gem! I’m proud of you as well!! I’m glad that your alternative to prescription meds are going well! I’m glad that they are working! Kudos to you for being off those meds for a yr! PRAISE GOD! It looks like you did pretty good with your goals! =) Another kudos on not charging anything on your credit cards! =) I know you had a rough year but God brought you through it! I know that I have to work on reaching out to ppl myself..I know I can be a hermit sometimes..lol..Love you! ~Venus

  3. #3 by starsinhereye on August 30, 2012 - 2:10 pm

    I am so proud of all the steps you made! You have had such a radical year! Love you!
    ~Audrey

Leave a Reply

