New Year..New Goals ***Danielle***

Most New Year celebrations start in January but I have two New Year celebrations, one in January and one in September. Rad Year 1 was a definite “stretching” experience. I stretched my mind,body, and spirit. It hurt, it made me use muscles that I didn’t know I had, but I am stronger for it. Year 2 will include more stretching but I want it be more physical actions. My goals are a reflection of some actual plans, talents that I feel God has planted inside of me.

Radical Goals *not listed in order of importance

1. Give up on sweets/desserts.

This is a goal that is being recycled from Year 1. I didn’t focus on this goal as much as I wanted to. I bought a book last year that sheds more light on sugar and its addictive qualities that I will use as my point of reference.

2. Exercise at least 10 minutes EVERYDAY.

This is a goal borrowed from my sis Kels. I am trying to get out of the mindset of exercising to get my sexy on (lol) but  to incorporate exercise as part of my holistic lifestyle. With this goal, it is also my intention to incorporate different kinds of exercise (Zumba, belly dancing, etc.)

3.Help with the building of a house.

So, this past month I’ve watched two shows that has greatly influenced this goal: Spike’s “Flip Men” and “Extreme Makeover: Home Edition.” A person’s home should be their safe place, the place where they feel the most comfortable. I’m beginning to feel this urge to be a homeowner within the next 5 years and I think being able to help build a house will give me some eternal knowledge of what to look for when it is my time and to be able to help a person build their safe place would be such a blessing to me.

4. Live stress free.

For me, this by far will the hardest goal. I would have to say that I worry about something everyday, sometimes I can talk myself down, other times my eating of something calms me downs (which I know is a negative way to deal with stress).

I really want to focus on taking stress, by a minute by minute basis, instead of freaking out, which I do too often.

5. Create a Business Plan for my non-profit.

About 6 months, I had an idea for a non-profit. It would serve as a physical and mental resource for single mothers. I have come to see my best friend become a great mother, through sheer determination, a positive support system, and most importantly our father never took his hand off of her. She preserved and prospered. There are other countless examples of strong women in my family and circle of friends who provided me with inspiration for this non-profit.

By the end of this year, it is my desire to have a workable business plan. I haven’t designated place for my non-profit, just for the simple fact, I’m not sure where I will be  at :-). It is my prayer to launch this nonprofit within the next 5-7 years.

6. Gain more experience in event planning.

I’ve been affectionately name as the event planner of HIS and once I really took stock, I came to the conclusion that they were right. I like being able to provide the stage for a person’s important event, be it their 60th birthday party or a baby shower. I really want to hone this gift. To be successful at this goal, I want to soak any and all knowledge I can on event planning, including books, continuing education, shadowing an event planner, helping to plan my friends event(s), anything that I can immerse myself in.

7. Teaching someone to read.

Before Rad Year 1 ended I attended a training workshop given by the Central Al Laubach Center to be a literacy tutor. Literacy is very important to me. Here are some facts about illiteracy: 1 out  every 5 Americans is considered functionally illiterate; In the Montgomery area and in Alabama is worse, more than one-fourth of the population over 16 years old have trouble reading; 60% of America’s prison inmates are illiterate and 85% of all juvenile offenders have problems reading.

***New Goals will begin on September 11th.

Quotes for Motivation for this Radical Year

The Serenity Prayer

The Serenity Prayer
  God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.
Living one day at a time;
Enjoying one moment at a time;
Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
Taking, as He did, this sinful world
as it is, not as I would have it;
Trusting that He will make all things right
if I surrender to His Will;
That I may be reasonably happy in this life
and supremely happy with Him
Forever in the next.
Amen.

–Reinhold Niebuhr

Jonah’s Prayer in the Belly of the Fish

Jonah 2

King James Version (KJV)

2 Then Jonah prayed unto the Lord his God out of the fish’s belly,

And said, I cried by reason of mine affliction unto the Lord, and he heard me; out of the belly of hell cried I, and thou heardest my voice.

For thou hadst cast me into the deep, in the midst of the seas; and the floods compassed me about: all thy billows and thy waves passed over me.

Then I said, I am cast out of thy sight; yet I will look again toward thy holy temple.

The waters compassed me about, even to the soul: the depth closed me round about, the weeds were wrapped about my head.

I went down to the bottoms of the mountains; the earth with her bars was about me for ever: yet hast thou brought up my life from corruption, O Lord my God.

When my soul fainted within me I remembered the Lord: and my prayer came in unto thee, into thine holy temple.

They that observe lying vanities forsake their own mercy.

But I will sacrifice unto thee with the voice of thanksgiving; I will pay that that I have vowed. Salvation is of the Lord.

10 And the Lord spake unto the fish, and it vomited out Jonah upon the dry land.

Amen.

Ready for the new adventure,

Danielle

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on September 5, 2012 - 8:46 pm

    So you’re the first one Totally not lame! I am praying for a radical year for you girl! keep pushing! Love you!!
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by radical7even on September 6, 2012 - 2:03 pm

    So, when you master giving up sweets, please let me know how I can too. Im sitting right now eating a cookie. Lol! You are going to love getting you event planning certificate! Good luck hunny boo! Love you!

  3. #3 by Venus on September 9, 2012 - 12:53 am

    Hey Dani! I know I struggle w/ eating sweets! Are you going to go cold turkey or slowly try to wean yourself off of them? I really like your 5th and 6th goal! I hope to hear more about your non-profit soon! I think it’s awesome that you want to launch one!!! A lot of people benefit from the services that non-profits give! I think event planning is your thing Dani! You do such a great job w/ planning things!!!! Oh I like goal #7 as well!! Learning how to read is very important! I know some kids don’t like to read but it’s something that must learn! I know you’ll do well on your goals! Love you! ~Venus

  4. #4 by Venus on September 9, 2012 - 12:58 am

    I forgot to mention that I love your quotes! lol! ~Venus

  5. #5 by radical7even on September 9, 2012 - 3:41 am

    Hey sweetie! My friend Mary Munnerlynn also has been thinking a long time about a non-profit ministry for single mothers, if I recall correctly. Maybe you two should talk. It could be a calling. Love you!

    -Kelly

Leave a Reply

