What??? Year 2… already?

I am basing my year 2 radical goals on the 7 dimensions of wellness

Social: I would like to attend more social outings to be better able to connect with people. I will be honest, I use my friends and family as a crutch when in social gatherings. I am more open to engaging in conversations when they are around. It is definitely a habit I want and need to break.

Emotional: I had a hard time with this one, but I finally figured out a goal. I need to handle constructive criticism better and not take it too personally. I can get overly defensive and explain every detail of my actions, but I sometimes need to just listen with a positive attitude and take their words as wisdom to help make me a better person.

Spiritual: I will focus on the fruits of the spirit. I didn’t realize the magnitude of developing these character traits until recently. I hope as I continue my journey in trying to finish reading the Bible in its entirety, I take time to physically note scriptures that I can apply into my life to help develop these characteristics in me.

Environmental: I suck at gardening, but I am inspired by two of my HIS to keep at it. A few months ago, I tried to grow basil in my house. It died a week later. I found out I overwatered it. Lol. But I am determined that one day I will be able to grow my own garden and eat healthier. I feel better when I do, and I am doing my part to help the enviornment. Win-win!

Occupational: This past year has been an amazing ride. I had the opportunity to pursue a passion of mine: photography. I love it even though it gets hectic. Though I like doing portrait photography, I love events. Its exciting and always keeps me going. I hope to expand my photographic skills and being to dabble in nature, art, and architecture photography. Since my finances are directly related to occupation, I would love to better budget my money. It is not like I am bad at it, it is just I have more responsibilities and needs to take of now, and I have to set priorities.

Intellectual: READ A BOOK! I am doing ok in this department. I am back to reading, but I definitely need to step my game up. Yes, I do occasionally like reading novels about love, but I want to get into the heavier books about policy, government, sociology, philosophy, etc… not for any particular reason but to educate myself and become more aware of my surroundings. Speaking of becoming more aware, I need to make it a habit of watching the news. Usually after a long day of work, I will turn my channel to watch “The Big Bang Theory.” But I know I need to stay up-to-date on what’s going in my neighborhood and around the world. I have started back watching the news a few days ago, which I am proud of myself. I am especially enjoying watching the national conventions. I usually don’t follow political campaigns until close to voting time, because that’s when the claws come out and people have to explicitly state a plan. I am really looking forward to watching the debates. Also, another intellectual goal is to consider grad school. Hopefully…

Physical: I did not follow through with my goal to lose weight last year. With everything going on, I just didn’t want to do it or was too tired to. That has to change. I need to set a pattern. I know one reason why I did not stick to a workout routine… I got bored. To be honest, I love working out. But staying motivated to do it is the problem. Maybe if I spiced up my routine, I will stay motivate. I hope to try one new physical activity a month to help me stay motivated to exercise. I was discussing with a church member a few weeks ago about possibly going hiking. I know I want to learn how to swim. There are so many activities that I could do, I just have to do them.

These are my goals.

Sweat ban on and ready to rock,

Bey

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on September 6, 2012 - 4:10 pm

    You’ve got some great goals set! Praying for you girl! Love you!
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by danigeorge25 on September 7, 2012 - 5:42 pm

    i love your goals….I want to go hiking and learn how to swim to..I need a torso like Michael Phelps (lol)

  3. #3 by Venus on September 9, 2012 - 12:42 am

    Great goals BB! I love how you did your goals according to the 7 dimensions of wellness! NEAT!! I can’t wait to hear the progress on your goals throughout the year! Love you! ~Venus

  4. #4 by radical7even on September 9, 2012 - 3:52 am

    We should go hiking before Rad2 is over. 🙂 I love to hike. Birmingham has some beautiful trails. It would be a great HIS outing with lots of photo ops. Love you!

    -Kelly

  5. #5 by gem on September 11, 2012 - 12:12 am

    Loving the goals girl! Very excited to see your future posts about progress made! Love you!

Leave a Reply

