Hi year 2, it’s Gem!

I am so happy to be embarking on year 2 of what has turned out to be an amazing journey. What I love about setting goals especially ones that are spiritually inclined is that not only do you challenge yourself but you remind God of his promises. God has a good plan for our lives and I know it fills his heart with pride to see his children striving to push themselves. Interestingly enough right after my 29th birthday about 3 weeks ago I began brainstorming challenges that I wanted to set for myself over the next year, I came up with quite a list. It took me a while to narrow down the ones that I wanted to include in my Rad7 list. I wanted to make sure that the ones I included were concrete goals. With that being said here is my list:

1)    Learn to cook at least 10 new meals – This is a recycled goal from year one. I actually really enjoy cooking. I know how to make limited meals, I have a severe diary allergy and I am a picky eater. So this makes trying and making new things challenging for me. I have a recipe book for diary free meals and will definitely use it this time around. I chose to learn how to make new meals as opposed to trying new foods at a restaurant or someone else’s cooking because if I make it I am 100% sure of what ingredients are in the meal. I figure I can try to at least cook 1 new recipe a month!

2)    Decreasing Debt/ Increasing my savings– This is a partially recycled goal- I am going to revamp my goal of paying off credit cards. I would like to have more money saved up. Currently I don’t have anything in savings. This changes every pay period because I save the money and then I tap into it later. I have devised a plan to help “trick” myself into saving more. I do want to mention that I am the thriftiest person in the WORLD! I bargain hunt like its nobody’s business and aside from food I don’t think I have actually every purchased anything full price. So overspending or overindulging has never been an issue. Infact I actually have a great deal of guilt when I try to do something for myself (more on this later and its related goal) I spoke to a family member about my money saving goal and we agreed on a monthly dollar amount that I will give him every month and he will put it away from you. I did this because I promised not to ask for the money from him and he promised not to give it to me! HA! In a year he will give me all the money that I gave him. I will also maintain my personal savings account that I have with my bank. I have already gone ahead and arranged for money to automatically come out of my paycheck into my savings on the 17th of every month.

3)    Find a home church– This was actually a personal goal that I had set for myself earlier in the year and I had asked my girls to pray for me as I was searching. I had already narrowed it down to 3 churches that I wanted to visit and then I never visited them. This is something that I crave badly. I have never really been a part of a church family consistently and I know that I would love to fellowship with people on my community. I would also like to hopefully join a small group within the church. So I will make an effort to begin attending some services and continue my search.

4)    Create a home office- The amazing flexibility of my job allows me to see my clients either at the office or in the community (likely their home, school, or The Department of Family & Children Serves office space). My progress notes are submitted electronically so I can complete the mountain of paperwork anywhere I’d like and if you haven’t guessed it yet, I like to do paperwork at home in my pajamas while simultaneously watching TV, texting and sometimes surfing the internet. Needless to say it takes me longer than it would if I just went to the office. On top of that I am not as organized as I think I should be I have work related things in every room in my home outside of the bathroom! I live in a two bedroom apartment and I was thinking of turning my spare bedroom into an office space. I already have a desk and chair in there and I would like to add some bookshelves, a file cabinet and give it a more “office” look. The only thing is it’s a fairly large room and it has a bed in it. So alternatively, I don’t plan to actually buy a dining room table and I think since it’s a much smaller space I can turn the dining area into a makeshift office. Currently I am leaning towards the dining area being the office space.

5)    Volunteer- I would like to find a cause/organization to advocate for and volunteer my time to. I specifically feel like I would like for it to be geared towards women and children. I have always felt a pull to work closely with woman. I especially enjoy working with female clients and I know that my counseling skills could likely be useful in a setting that empowers women.

6)    Meditate- In keeping with my holistic path to pain management, I would like to continue to explore ways to manage my pain and keep stress at bay. I know that stress exacerbates everything and when chronic pain is an issue in your life, that in of itself is a stressor. So it’s extremely important to manage stress levels. I want to try all things meditation related and gather information, resources and explore varying forms of meditation to see how it helps decrease my pain levels. I think that it would be wonderful to incorporate into my supplement regimen.

7)    Overcome Guilt- I would like to overcome feeling guilty about doing things or making decisions that I believe will benefit me in the long run. I think that I am a considerate person and as such I really don’t like it when someone is upset with me or doesn’t like something that I did. Funny thing is while I don’t have difficulty doing what I feel like doing, I have a great amount of guilt that I carry around for sometimes making decisions and setting boundaries that change the dynamics of  the relationship I have with another person. I hope over the next year to learn to be able to be more confident in my need for self care and learn to compartmentalize when I have to set boundaries or make hard decisions for myself. I don’t want to bear a burden that I don’t need to carry and guilt like worry is never a useful emotion.

I am very excited for the year ahead and so happy to share my goals with you. Thank you for joining me on this journey.

One day at a time (still)

Gem

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on September 10, 2012 - 12:16 am

    Prayig for you and your goals! Love you!
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by radical7even on September 10, 2012 - 12:30 am

    Those are good, concrete goals. 😀 Best of luck lady!

    -Kelly

  3. #3 by renee n chaffin on September 10, 2012 - 1:28 am

    I love reading your goals. They seem very focused and well thought out..can’t wait to see where God takes them

  4. #4 by gem on September 10, 2012 - 4:33 pm

    Thanks ladies! I am excited about this journey and appreciate your love and support!

  5. #5 by Venus on September 14, 2012 - 7:54 am

    Hey Gem! I love your goals! It seems like we both have the same goal with cooking! lol! I’m glad you have someone that can help you with your goal #2! So don’t ask your family member for the money when you want it..lol..I agree that you are a great bargain hunter! I really do hope you find a home church!! Yes, attend the church services! I pray that God will lead you to the right place! =) I also deal w/ guilt w/ doing something for myself. I’m not used to doing that b/c I’m a giver..lol..I hope you do well w/ your goals!! Love you! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

