Kelly’s Goals for Year 2

Here goes the start of year two on our Radical7 blogging adventure. I am hoping the goals I chose will help me grow in a meaningful, holistic manner. I used the seven areas of wellness again to create a comprehensive list of goals. Here they are!

1) Social: I will strengthen my relationships with others. Here are the steps:

a-Write letters to my HIS in rotation at a rate of 1 per week.

b-Make time to return phone calls. Being busy is a good reason (or excuse) to ignore phone calls. Procrastinating in returning the calls is just inconsiderate to the people who call me. I think I have some slight social anxiety because I feel uneasy returning calls. It’s so weird because I’m super social in person. I’m going to work on returning calls, because I am almost always glad to have made the time.

c-Make new friends in my current city. It is tempting to stick with the friends I have in lieu of starting over with the whole friend-making process. That kind of mentality leaves me lonely for girl time on most days. It’s time to reach out and become social in the city where I actually reside.

2) Emotional: Disengage in fruitless efforts. Pruning away stressful activities saves precious emotional energy. Here are the steps:

a-Absolutely no more facebook arguments. People are not open to different viewpoints when   they’re seething behind a computer screen.

b-No more gossip. Discussing important situations for constructive purposes with good intentions is one thing. Cracking insensitive jokes at another’s expense for a quick laugh is another issue entirely. It is not worth the guilty feeling that comes later when you know you’ve said something that would really hurt another person, even if they never find out.

c-No more favors for the ungrateful. In my line of work there are plenty of people to help who will appreciate my efforts. I need to stop being overly nice to people who are belligerent and lazy in order to help them save face and feel good about themselves. That helps no one and leaves me feeling emotionally exhausted.

3) Spiritual: I will find a new home church with my new family. I love my church family at Immanuel Presbyterian Church, but I will most likely not be able to move close enough to remain a member of that congregation. I have let my missing Immanuel serve as an excuse for seeking out another spiritual support system. With Elias on board, it has become more important to me than ever to find a good local church.

4) Environmental: Garden for food. I loved gardening in Tampa with primarily flowers and basil. Now I have been learning more about healthy eating and want to learn how to grow my own food. The best way to stay healthy is to eat what God gives us right out of the ground. Here are the steps:

a-Compost

b-Tend the plants I accumulate (i.e. don’t let them die).

c-Hopefully develop a substantial vegetable and fruit garden by the end of the year.

5) Occupational: Find a professional balance between work and family life. Here are the steps:

a-Leave work at 5pm unless there is an actual emergency.

b-Focus on my family when at home. Leave the work thinking for work hours.

6) Intellectual: Increase my understanding of topics pertinent to my counseling interests. Eventually I plan to transition to a safer, more financially secure career in traditional counseling. Much of the experience I am getting now as a case worker increases my understanding of challenges people face in terms of mental illness, emotional trauma, substance abuse, domestic violence, etc. There are a few areas in which I want to develop expertise (e.g. surviving sexual abuse, miscarriage, birth trauma, and domestic violence). The one step I will focus on in reaching this goal is to read one book a month written by an expert in the field.

7) Physical: Be mindful of what I consume. This is more of a maintenance goal. Since Elias made his presence known, I have been working hard to eat healthy for him. I sustain him primarily with milk made from what I consume. So far he has flourished. I cut out fast food for the most part and eat as many local and whole foods as possible. I want this to be a conscious lifestyle chance and not a temporary endeavor.

  1. #1 by Venus on September 9, 2012 - 5:30 pm

    Very detailed goals Kels! They are all great!!! Love you! ~Venus

  2. #2 by radical7even on September 9, 2012 - 8:34 pm

    Thank you for reading them V! 🙂 I am happy with them, although it is a lot to take in. I worked on goal 3 today. I tried out my sister Pam’s church in DeFuniak Springs. I liked it, although it is a drive. Here’s hoping all continues to go well…

  3. #3 by starsinhereye on September 9, 2012 - 8:38 pm

    Thank you for sharing your goals! I will pray for you and each one! Love you!
    ~Audrey

  4. #4 by Michael Moore on September 9, 2012 - 11:47 pm

    Kelly, I could use a few of these myself! It has been a pleasure to meet you on FB and now in person!! And it was wonderful to have you with us at church too 🙂

    Thank you for your thoughtful post… I too am trying to study and grow as I continue to grow in this new environment after so long in the military.

  5. #5 by gem on September 10, 2012 - 5:21 am

    Looooove your goals Kelly! I especially loved how you broke them down as well. Excited about your journey and I will try to make sure I pass along some counseling resources to you as time goes by 🙂

Leave a Reply

