See Dani Run!

Hey Radicalnites!!

This was a great radical week. I’ve kept my and my sisters’ goals at the forefront of my brain and really have been seeking and searching for ways to help us reach our goals. This week, I’ve focused more on my  physical fitness and my no sweets goal. The no-sweets goal has been a little difficult because I’ve come to realize that I really like to drink something sweet when I eat a meal and I tend to overdose on juice :-). I’m done well with limiting my sweets intake ( I haven’t had any candy and only one soft drink). I don’t want to deprive myself because I know the outcome could delay my progress that I’ve made so far. I’ve been known to give up, just because of one bad day. My plan is to research some healthy alternatives.

On the physical exercise, I’ve exercised at least 10 minutes everyday of the new radical year. I feel stronger. I am taking it as a day by day event. This time I am not setting an exact poundage amount but I am more so trying to develop good eating habits and trying new exercises. If I lose weight, it would just be an added bonus.

The Radical Moment of the Week: I RAN! Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday, I ran nonstop for 1 whole minute. I know that’s not a long amount of time ( felt like a lifetime) but it is a start. There are a lot of events and tasks that I sometime put off because I feel like I’m too big to start them. I’ve said in the past that I will start running when I lost 20 lbs.,  but allowing myself to embrace radical 7even and what it truly means to live radically for God, it hit me that I shouldn’t wait until the right circumstances present themselves, because they may never come. Sometimes, you just have to go to the mountain instead of waiting for the mountain to come to you.

Still Pushing with a little added running,

 

Danielle G.

  1. #1 by beylew on September 15, 2012 - 5:16 pm

    Omg! I am so proud of you! I need to do the same thing with the elliptical because I swear it feels like a lifetime when I’m reality it’s only been ten seconds. You brought up a good point about juice. I consume it like it is water. But that is definitely one thing I need to pay attention to. Love you and very proud of your progress.

  2. #2 by starsinhereye on September 15, 2012 - 6:36 pm

    Great job of starting up the mountian! I am so proud! You are rocking the radical!
    ~Audrey

  3. #3 by Venus on September 17, 2012 - 5:44 am

    I’m so proud of you Dani! Kudos to you on running 3 days in a row!! =) Yeah 1 minute isn’t a long but hey you have to start from somewhere! I think to really get off sweets (why does it sound like I’m talking about a drug? lol), you have to slowly wean yourself off of them! Lol @ overdosing on juice! Limiting your sweets intake is a start! Again, I’m proud you! Thanks for thinking of ways to help us accomplish our goals! Love you! ~Venus

  4. #4 by radical7even on September 19, 2012 - 4:06 pm

    @Bey: I use to be the same way with elliptical, when I first started I could only do 2 minutes.
    Danielle

  5. #5 by kdcromer on October 1, 2012 - 6:04 am

    Hey 1 minute is a long time if you’re pushing yourself to the max. You’re getting as intense of a workout as someone else who may do 5, 10, or 20 and be used to it. With running I LOVED how your body will really respond and adapt to what you put it through. That one minute will never be as hard as it was the first time. Running Shakespeare park early in the morning were some of my most peaceful, happy memories. I can’t run anymore because of my tendinitis, so run for both of us darling! 🙂

Leave a Reply

