The Virtue of Paitence&Peace-Renee

This picture brings a smile to my face every time I see it.I love being a mother, I love my son and I love the journey that God has allowed us to be on together. 🙂

Why is this the beginning of my blog, because most of my “radical” moments over the past two weeks have dealt with my son. I took Daniel to the zoo for the first time this past weekend by MYSELF and boy was it an experience. Remember when I spoke about his irrational phobias they came out full swing at the zoo. All kind of new bugs and animals..he seemed excited until a bug flew near him and all Hades broke lose. He had a fit so much so I almost cut our journey short, because he was crying and screaming and really causing a scene. BUT God spoke to me in those moments, don’t allow what you think other people are saying or thinking alter you from teaching your son a valuable lesson. Things in life will be uncomfortable, scary and unnerving you can’t just kick, scream and run away from those challenges. If I were to take him home that’s what I would be saying to him; instead I said son, spiderman is not afraid of (insert fear here)..why are you afraid? You see just a few short weeks ago he became obsessed with all things spidey related. In fact, he constantly talks about spiderman now. So for me to mention spiderman to him was a reference point for being brave. After his meltdown I calmly showed him all the animals and the bugs that he thought might harm him. I told him that he was safe and that he should enjoy being in view of some awesome creatures..guess what happened? Once I took his focus off his fears and placed them on positive things he calmed down and actually enjoyed himself. BTW he loves the chimps and elephants 🙂

Every time I am with my son I feel God speaking to my Spirit. Remember I too have irrational fears and worries and it helps me to thank of God in that loving fashion of trying to take the fear and burden away. A situation might look one way in the natural, but that has nothing to do with what God is doing spiritually and once I let go and trust Him..all things will fall into place 🙂

Being calm and collected with Daniel when I was so close to losing my cool really focused on my out of love goal. If we are to do anything on this planet it should have a two-fold goal 1: To bring God glory and 2) to show His love..period those are the only two litmus tests needed to making any decision. Can what I do bring glory to God and how would this show His love? I am really focusing on this goal, because I believe it is the very essence of the Christian walk.   When I fear, i should ask the same question I asked of my son, but instead of saying Spiderman I will tell myself; Self Jesus did not fear (insert fear here) instead He gave it all to God.  Just change my focus. 🙂

I also did a new natural hair style so I have been doing awesome on a few goals…on the reading Bible goal..ugh not so much. I read everyday, but I haven’t actually read ALL the chapters I should have by now. So I think I will alter this goal a bit and say I will STUDY the Bible for a year. You can read all day and not fully get understanding. So my goal is now more knowledge based than actually quantity.

Renee`

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on September 19, 2012 - 7:56 pm

    I love to hear the stories about you and Daniel! You can tell how much you have grown by your tales of being a mother! I am so proud of you for doing things in love, because that is what life is about! Love you!
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by Renee N. Chaffin on September 19, 2012 - 9:00 pm

    Thanks for always being supportive love! He has def changed my outlook on so many things. He’s a true Godsend just like my HIS, Family and Darren 🙂

  3. #3 by Venus on September 20, 2012 - 5:43 am

    I’m glad that you were able to calm him down so that he could enjoy the zoo. Seem like the story of Spiderman came in handy!=) I love the pic of him in his Spiderman costume! I love what you said about being uncomfortable and how we shouldn’t react to the challenges. However, our flesh do want to RUN the other way! lol! Kudos to you on doing your natural hairstyle! What was it? For your bible reading goal, I say try to set time every day w/ reading at least a few scriptures and also studying them. I have to better w/ cracking open by bible everyday as well! I hope that you have awesome bible studies! You already know about my story of fear…lol..I think we all struggle with fear.

  4. #4 by Renee N. Chaffin on September 20, 2012 - 2:11 pm

    Hey Venus! lol,
    Yeah I read every morning and every night, but depending on what I read my mind starts racing and I end up spending more time on a particular passage, or Darren and I read almost every night and then we get into a debate on what this meant, or we just talk about how that passage made us feel. So it’s not that i don’t read it’s more that I have not read the certain number of chapters that I had original put for my reading the Bible through in one year goal, so that’s why I am going to alter it a bit. As far as my hair goes I did a faux hawk and flat twisted my hair on the sides.
    I am hoping that as time goes along and I get deeper into the Word of God that I will not have as many fearful moments ya know

  5. #5 by Danielle on September 20, 2012 - 2:34 pm

    Great Great post!! It is so amazing the lessons we are learning through this radical journey.

  6. #6 by kdcromer on October 1, 2012 - 5:53 am

    1) I’ve go to see the faux hawk. 2) Studying the Bible at your own pace–delving into the parts you are drawn to–that’s how life long learning occurs.

    Thank you for sharing the picture and story of your little man!

  7. #7 by Renee N. Chaffin on October 1, 2012 - 2:31 pm

    Hey Kels! I should have taken a Picture. I will do that next time for sure. I am def trying to make this journey a life long learning process. I think that will be move valuable in the end instead of me trying to check off that I have simply read. Reading with comprehension or transformation is pointless.
    Thanks for all the support!

Leave a Reply

