It’s Elementary My Dear ~Danielle

Hey My Radicalnites!

Radical moment of the week: I went back to my old elementary school this week. I have a nephew who is in the first grade and who is having problems doing his work. I have to admit it was a blast from the past, to see old teachers, old classrooms, the old playground, some things have changed while others remained the same.

Visiting my nephew class gave me a refresher of things that are now for me second nature–things like counting by 10s, phonics, and punctuation marks. Hearing them blend sounds to make new words and learning new facts about their favorite zoo animals was fun to watch.

This week taught me that to go forward, you have to to back to the basics. For example, when my nephew got stumped on a word, I would get him to say each letter, The sound for each letter, then we blend each sound to make the word. The same goes for us, as Christians, when we get stumped by life’s trials and tribulations, we need not give up, instead we have to go to God’s word, pray, and believe. Blending our faith and God’s promises will always equal success.

Beauty sidenote:  So, I’ve been reading a lot of different magazines lately and I’ve come across this DIY beauty scrub that I wanted to share:
1 Tablespoon honey (dark, organic preferred)
1 Tablespoon sugar
–mix ingredients
This was called a facial scrub. I used it on ky face but I don’t really think it was a good idea to have that much sweetness that close to my tastebuds. I used it again on my feet, which I liked much better. My skin felt really soft and smooth.

Still Pushing with smoother feet,

Dani

  1. #1 by gem on September 23, 2012 - 4:37 pm

    Wonderful post and message. Going back to the basics!

  2. #2 by Renee N. Chaffin on September 24, 2012 - 1:28 am

    I’m always challenged,inspired and laugh by ur posts. Glad ur feet are smoother and you’ve taken time to mentor ur loved one

  3. #3 by starsinhereye on September 24, 2012 - 4:42 pm

    I am so gonna try that scrub! Thanks for posting!
    ~Audrey

  4. #4 by Venus on September 25, 2012 - 7:08 am

    Hey Dani! That’s cool that you visited your elementary school and that you remembered the “old staff” that was there. I love how you related the sounding of words to our Christian walk. =) I want to try that scrub and it’s inexpensive to make (that’s a plus)! Love you! ~Venus

  5. #5 by kdcromer on October 1, 2012 - 5:46 am

    I’m using that scrub too! I love natural products. It’s cool that we share that. Love you toots!

Leave a Reply

