Just Keep Swimming~Audrey

It’s been a rough two weeks for me. I made headway on some of my goals and then became so busy and tired that I dropped many. I haven’t started a savings account, my exercise routine started strong and then faltered. I have been house sitting, busy at work, and did overtime with a birthday party. I learned new information on my mom’s surgery: they are doing something new. They will cut open her abdomen, move her stomach over and fuse the vertebrae from the front. This will be less painful for her and quicken the recovery time. This is great for her, but scares me because it is new.

Last weekend I was very discouraged; my second year was already off to a bad start. I was letting God down, people at work down, and myself down.

On Sunday, I went with my family to see Finding Nemo in 3-D. As usual with Disney movies, I come out with a new sense of what life is about: in this instance, family and friends. I also reminded of a great motto that I needed: Just keep swimming.

In the movie, Dory sings it when she is faced with a challenge. Just keep swimming and you get through the worst challenges. Whether it is a dark chasm or fishing net, pushing forward can ensure you come out on the other side. So this week I faced challenges with my boss and being sick, but I just kept swimming. I ask my girls for prayers and moved forward the best way I knew how.

The Bible says it like this: “But as for you, be strong and do not give up, for your work will be rewarded.” The passage from 2 Chronicles 15:7 embodies the same message: don’t give up, keep moving forward. This promise to us, that we will succeed if we try, is pure motivation. Sometimes we hit challenges but as long as we work through it, we will succeed. So I had a troubling week or two, I haven’t given up. I will continue to push on.

This week was a great week spiritually because I faced challenges and didn’t give up. I just kept swimming.

Here’s my promise to you: we will have bad weeks and days of non-motivation. But God promises to see you though.

  1. #1 by Danielle on September 30, 2012 - 4:15 pm

    I agree wholeheartdly. This post is my mindset for this radical year. Instead of looking at what I didn’t do right, I will focus on the good and if nothing else, I will just keep “swimming”.

  2. #2 by Renee N. Chaffin on September 30, 2012 - 11:19 pm

    I had a week myself, but I’m learning this same thing myself. Kudos for you for swimming on! Prayers for a better week

  3. #3 by Venus on October 1, 2012 - 4:43 am

    Hey Audrey! I hate to hear you’ve had a bad 2 weeks! =( I know last week was very rough for me. You have tons of time to make more progress on your goals! =) Yes, you should keep swimming! I love how you found some inspiration out of Finding Nemo! I love that movie! I bet seeing it in 3-D was awesome!!! Amen to God seeing us through! Love you! ~Venus

  4. #4 by kdcromer on October 1, 2012 - 5:43 am

    I’ve been having a rough couple of days with work. I can relate to this. Thank you for being honest and optimistic. 🙂

  5. #5 by Venus on October 1, 2012 - 5:59 am

    I hope your mom’s surgery goes well and that it’s successful! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

