My 2nd Post ~Venus

So this is my 2nd post for the month. I usually write my posts once a week but I haven’t been in the blog mood lately. I’ve been tired and overworked..lol..This post is going to be very random but it will compose of things that happened since I posted my goals for this year.I did my first job search last week! Woo hoo! I haven’t applied to any jobs yet but doing job search was my baby step. I know that I have to get on it w/ applying for jobs. I say my post radical moment this month was going on a trip to Birmingham. Birmingham is about 2 hrs from where I live.The trip to B-Ham was for the Founder’s Day weekend for my sorority (Sept. 21st-23rd). At first I was orginally going to go on the trip. I made preparations to finding people I could room with and finding a ride. One of my sorors (sorority sisters) created a Avon E-Party fundraiser for me so I could raise funds to go on the trip..Well one person only decided to buy something from the site. So due to that, I decided not to go on the trip.

Ok second time around, I decided to go on trip they tried to made it more affordable for the sorors to attend. So I was like ok, I’m going to try to go. So I began trying to find a ride and someone I could room w/ at the hotel again. Well the ride situation really didn’t work out..I had a ride to B-Ham only if I could find a ride to Montgomery..I couldn’t find a ride to the Gump. I ended up finding ppl I could room with. I was going to use the money from my savings to go on the trip. However, when I wrote down the cost of everything, I realized I didn’t have enough money to go so I decided not to go on the trip. The funny thing about the hotel room situation,  is that everyone that I originally roomed with dropped out of the room and there was 1 only person left. Me and her was going to room together but we decided not to because we didn’t have enough money to share a room together.

Ok last time around, I asked one of my sorors if she was going to go on the trip and if so, if I could  ride w/ her and room w/ her. Well she wasn’t sure if she was going to go to B-Ham or not but she told me is she was going to go, she was going go down that Friday and come back that Saturday. So on the Sept. 18th she called me and told me she was going to go.  I was like yes, praise the Lord! lol! So me, her, and one of the other sorors rode down to B-Ham and went to Founder’s Day weekend. I also would like to mention that when I heard the trip was more affordable, I put my time off request from work for that weekend. I told my manager I wasn’t going to go but then she (my soror) told me was going to go, I had to get my days back that I took off..lol..

On that Friday we had a meet/greet and went skating. I almost busted my butt  a few times trying to skate..lol! I haven’t skated in a while and I wasn’t expecting to not be a good skater..lol…On Saturday, we had 2 tours set up. One for 16th Street Baptist Church (1st tour)  and the Civil Rights Institute (2nd tour).  Later on that night was the banquet. I didn’t attend the 1st tour. However, I did attend the 2nd one. It was a walk through tour. There is so much history in B-Ham that I didn’t know. After the 2nd tour, we visited the gift shop and went to a jazz festival that was not too far from the place of the 2nd tour. The jazz festival was really nice! There were a lot of different vendors (food vendors, art vendors, jewelry vendors, and a hair product vendor).  After that we went to the hotel that our other sorors were staying at and hung out with them. We left around 4p.m. to come back. On that Sunday the agenda was to attend church and go to lunch afterwards. Of course I didn’t attend the events on Sunday because we left on Saturday.I really wish I could had attended the banquet  (also stay for the whole weekend) because I bought a dress to go to it. =( I’m glad that I was able to go to the trip.

I had so much fun and it was something I really needed!  I used the money out of my savings to go but it was affordable! I still  had money left in my savings account so I wasn’t wiped out if you know what I mean (don’t get it twisted, I’m not ballin lol). There were times when I was like “forget it” when trying to go. I was very discouraged at times because it was seemed like nothing was working out. So I’m glad that my soror and other soror decided to go! =)Sorry for the long book but I had to tell the whole story..lol..

OAS: Please pray for me as I dealing with a situation from my past. Last week, I ran into one exes and it started up emotions I thought was gone. Of course my Heavenly Inspired Sisters know the full story.God bless!  ~Venus

Just wanted to share this Empowermoments that touched me. The funny thing is that this message was written on the same day that  I ran into my ex-bf.  “Take It With a Grain of Salt–>http://empowermoments.org/2012/09/26/5218/

 

  1. #1 by kdcromer on October 1, 2012 - 5:41 am

    Thanks for posting about your life V. Stay strong. Don’t let emotions take you back to situations God took you out of. You have a lot to look forward to. I’m glad you got to make it to some of your weekend with your sorority. Keep your head up! 🙂

  2. #2 by Venus on October 1, 2012 - 6:01 am

    Thank you so much Kels! I really do appreciate the words of encouragement!! =) I’m glad that I was able to go as well! =) I will do my best to keep my head up! Love you!

  3. #3 by Renee N. Chaffin on October 1, 2012 - 1:55 pm

    God knows the desires of our hearts and I am glad He provided a way for you to attend the Founders Day weekend. 🙂 ok..now I’ve said it a million times…APPLY to some jobs LOL If you want a house and only go to an open house…how is GOD going to give you a house? Remember that planes,trains and automobile youtube video from Bronzegoddess you posted..we must walk in the future now. Meaning whatever you want: job,car,husband etc begin taking those steps now. Allow for prep time and then move forward hunny! love you

  4. #4 by Venus on October 2, 2012 - 3:43 am

    Hey Nee! Yes, I’m glad he provided a way! Lol @ applying to jobs! I know you stay on me about it. Yup I remember the vid. I know I have to do whatever I need to do to move ahead. Thanks for your support! Love you too! ~Venus

  5. #5 by radical7even on October 2, 2012 - 4:32 am

    So glad that you didn’t give up and trusted in God! And, oh, what blessing!
    ~Audrey

  6. #6 by Venus on October 5, 2012 - 7:08 am

    Thank you Audrey! I’m glad I didn’t give up either even though a couple times I wanted to..lol..The last time around was going to be the last straw..lol..I was like if that didn’t work out that’s it..lol.. Yes, it was a blessing! Love you!

Leave a Reply

