Pruning

1.
to cut or lop off (twigs, branches, or roots).
2.
to cut or lop superfluous or undesired twigs, branches, or roots from; trim.
3.
to rid or clear of (anything superfluous or undesirable).
4.
to remove (anything considered superfluous or undesirable).

A few days ago, I decided agin to try to grow my own herbs… Especially since it is one of goals for this year. I bought a parsley and basil plant because they are my favorite herbs to cook with. Well, yesterday I noticed a lot of brown leaves on my plant. I felt a little discouraged. I’m like “oh no, not again! Another plant to kick the dust.” But then, I had an idea. Cut off the dead leaves. Don’t just discard the entire plant because of a few deaf leaves… Well a lot of deaf leaves. Lol. Then I reflected on life. How many times do we just give up because a few setbacks, or out circumstances look bleak. Don’t give up, just prune away your negative attitude, cut off the things that are not yielding good fruit. Sometimes you have to let go of things because it is draining your resources. I am quite sure these dead leaves were still using water. Right now, I’m reevaluating things in my life. There are many things that need pruning.

Hopefully that helped motivate you today. Here’s to hoping my pruning works.

Lessons from the garden,

Bey

20121001-205237.jpg

20121001-205253.jpg

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on October 2, 2012 - 2:36 am

    Great post! So true pf life and plants! Love you!
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by Venus on October 2, 2012 - 3:42 am

    Hey BB! I agree w/ Audrey about your post being great! I’m glad you didn’t get rid of your plants because of the brown leaves! Your plants look beautiful! =) I love how you related pruning your plants to pruning things in our lives! I know I have some pruning to do myself! Love you! ~Venus

  3. #3 by Danielle on October 4, 2012 - 2:35 pm

    I must be really hungry because those herbs look tasty!!

    Dani

  4. #4 by Renee N. Chaffin on October 4, 2012 - 3:59 pm

    Hey this was inspiring. I am currently pruning a few areas in my own life. I pruned away my grad program for one LOL love u and thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

