My Sister’s Keeper Part 1 {Danielle}

Hey Radicalnites!

The group of women that compose of Radical 7even are amazing and inspiring. They are funny, witty, and I know without a shadow of a doubt they have my back. In honor of my inspiring and encouraging sisters, I decided to do a blog series, where if and when I come across an article or I do a certain event that I feel will be beneficial to help them with their goals, I will post it under this blog series.

The first entry will be a recipe I did last week for my family. If I am not mistaken, I remember Algem and Venus having goals of cooking more/different recipes. I will list the entire recipe and in parentheses I will show where I had to improvise with what supplies I had on hand.

Chicken Rice Dinner

2 cups water
2 cups cut fresh asparagus/diagonal pieces ( I used sweet peas)
1 package (6 oz.) Long grain and wild rice mix
1/4 cup reduced fat butter, divided
3/4 pound boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1-inch strips ( I used chicken thighs, but I prefer chicken breasts)
1 teaspoon minced garlic
1/4 teaspoon salt (didn’t add)
1 medium carrot, shredded (didn’t feel like shredding :S)
1/2 teaspoon grated lemon peel, optional

1. In a large saucepan, combine the water, asparagus, rice mix with contents of seasoning packet and 2 tablespoons butter. Bring to a boil; reduce heat. Cover and simmer for 10-15 minutes or until the water is absorbed.

2. Meanwhile, in a large skillet, sauteed the chicken, garlic and salt in remaining butter until the chicken, garlic and salt in remaining butter until the chicken juices run clear. Add the carrot, lemon juice, and lemon peel if desired; cook and stir for 1-2 minutes until heated through. Stir into rice mixture.

Finished Picture:

image

Delicious!!!

Goal Check: Out of the 20 days of September, I walked or did some sort of aerobics 17 days, with a total of 425 minutes…woohoo!! I got on the scale and lost 1 pound. I would have loved to have lost more but I didn’t gain any more so that is a blessing!! I’m counting it all joy.

Still Pushing with something yummy in my tummy,

Danielle

,

  1. #1 by Renee N. Chaffin on October 4, 2012 - 4:00 pm

    Congrats on keeping in Step with you goals for walking,running and overall exercise. Continue to push because it will be beautiful in the end 🙂 love you

  2. #2 by starsinhereye on October 5, 2012 - 3:36 am

    I am so touched that you are on the look out for us! It means a lot to know that someone on Earth is looking out for me. Jesus sent you to us for that reason! Love, love, love you!
    ~Audrey

  3. #3 by Venus on October 5, 2012 - 6:41 am

    Hey Dani! Yay to you doing a blog series! Thanks for remembering our goals and sharing this recipe! I’m glad your family enjoyed the meal. I never cooked asparagus before so that should be interesting! lol! Kudos to you on losing 1 pound and being successful w/ working out! Love you! ~Venus

  4. #4 by gem on October 6, 2012 - 1:14 am

    I love you Danielle and thanks for shouting me out in your post. Congrats on your weight loss and even more congrats on this wonderful blog post. The food looks delicious and I can’t wait to try the recipe!!!!

Leave a Reply

