Are we there yet? ***Gem***

Anyone that has ever been on a road trip has probably had at least one person in the vehicle that wanted to know how close they were to their destination. That’s me- both in a figurative sense and a literal sense. I think this all comes from a need to control. Sometimes when you feel as if you “know” where you plan to ultimately end up you could someone control everything that happens in between. While I must say I have come a long way, I still have a way to go! Thankfully in the words of Joyce Meyer “I’m ok and I’m on my way!” I think it brings a great deal of comfort to our flesh if we could know how something was going to end, or where we would be in the end so to speak. I am learning more and more everyday that you just can’t call it.

It’s more important to pray for God’s will and the ability to be able to move through whatever he has for you with grace and continual faith, than to try to make things come to fruition through your own works. Everytime I begin to feel frustrated I stop and think to myself . I say “Self? Are you trying to do something that only GOD can do?” Well I say something similar to that 🙂 If the answer to that question is yes then you will continue to be frustrated until you give it up to God. Truthfully you cannot predict with 100%  certainty exactly how something will turn out. Some may argue with this but I can tell you the fact that you can’t account for a myriad of variables is enough for me to say this. I use this thought process to guide my new way of thinking: “here and now”. I want to encourage you to focus on the journey as opposed to the destination. Stop asking God “Are we there yet?” Instead thank God for wherever you are now because as we know God’s plan for you is much greater than you can ever hope for or imagine. This “here and now” thinking is very radical for me because I am used to planning everything and writing them down in more than one planner 🙂

This has also helped me a great deal with my anxiety because any situation good or bad I am trusting that God will reveal to me my purpose. Situations that would have caused me a great deal of stress in the past now seem so less earth shattering and energy that I would have spent worrying about things are now better spent by appreciating whatever I’m doing at the moment. It’s a peaceful place to be.

My prayer is that I can continue to share more and more of a ZEN Gem with everyone!

One day at a time,

Gem

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on October 6, 2012 - 2:27 am

    This post make me think of a fabulous song “Send Me on my Way” by Rusted Root. The used it in Ice Age but it’s a calming song that truly makes me think about my life’s path. I learned a long time ago that my plans don’t happen by His plans do. As I’ve learned to let it go to God my stress has decreased.
    Kudos to you for seeing this too! I am so glad it’s helping with your anxiety; we weren’t meant to have a stressful life.
    See you down God’s path! Love you!
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by Venus on October 6, 2012 - 3:39 am

    Amen! Great post Gem!! Very encouraging! I know when I went on road trips when I was younger I would ask “Are we there yet?”..lol..My mom would always say if you take a nap, when you wake up we will be there..lol…I love how you’re thinking here and now. Oh this is random but I just thought of Luther Vandross’ song Here and Now..lol..Amen to focusing on the journey instead of the destination. I know I’m guilty of wanting to skip to the destination..lol..Love you Gem! I’m proud of you! ~Venus

  3. #3 by Danielle on October 7, 2012 - 8:47 pm

    I agree with you wholeheartedly Gem. I think having that Outlook has made my transition at home as smooth it could be. I thank God for what he is doing in my life and what he will continue to do for all of us!! Love you Gem!

  4. #4 by Renee N. Chaffin on October 8, 2012 - 1:20 am

    I needed to read this! Thanks for sharing. I’ve been thinking a lot about..where I “should” be and where I think I should be going, but honestly like your saying we must let Gods timing and will be done

Leave a Reply

