My Son From Another Mother-Renee

Image

 

Hey world!

I just wanted to update everyone on my goals. So far…so good. I have been getting Daniel out of the house more we both have been more active. I have been doing the kickboxing dvd once a week (not as good as I’d like), but I do other exercise coupled with that. I have been working on my “out of love” goal and trying to see others as God would. I had a very emotional conversation with the person I talked about in my previous post and I did extremely well, instead of using emotions to build walls I allowed myself to leave the door open for whenever this person decides to want to really be involved in my life.

Radical Moment: I began dating the love of my life 8 months ago. We have been friends for well over six years and during that time we became extremely close, but I was hesitant to cross that friendship barrier. Letting go of my “list” was extremely difficult for me and one of the things on my list was a man with no kids LOL I know it sounds hypocritical, but when a woman has a child the father may or may not be involved, but if a man has a child then the woman is 99.999% involved. SO when dating a man with child(ren) there will be the involvement of another parent. That was something that really scared me, i’ve heard horror stories about co-parenting situations and didn’t want that, BUT God’s plans are always better than our own. My love has a son that is exactly one month and ten days older than my son. Daniel and he love playing and running and just being together. BUT it is different to have a child that is not biological yours and to fall in love with him. See when you date someone that has a child you need not only fall in love with him, but the child as well. The two are a packaged deal. The blending of two families can be complicated, but through prayer and patience it is something that is beautiful. I mean a child can never have too many people that love and care about them and want their best interest. I’m thankful that Daniel has both his biological father and my love in his life; it has been a godsend. I would have missed out on so much had I decided to not get on this journey I would have missed out on loving an incredible kid and missed out on learning how to compromise. My life is now filled with conversations of trucks, Thomas the train and Spiderman and I wouldn’t have it any other way. 

Co-parenting between Daniel’s father and I has changed for the better as well and I credit no one but my Heavenly Father. I know for sure had I not had my son Daniel I would not be in my relationship now. Having to work with someone else for the betterment of your child can be tough there were days when I questioned if it was all worth it, BUT if I didn’t have that glue (i.e Daniel) I wouldn’t have worked on anything that I needed to. My patience,understanding and even long suffering grew out of my co-parenting relationship…and wouldn’t you know those are the keys for any long-term successful relationship. I didn’t see it then, but oh I see God’s plan now. I needed the humbling of not always “knowing what’s best”. Before I was the “cut em loose” girl, not going like I want it to, cut em loose LOL so I didn’t have many long term relationships. Being forced to work on a relationship I wasn’t romantically invested in helped cultivate me into a woman that would be ready for a romantic relationship.  Basically, I am saying: allow God’s plan to unfold it is a beautiful thing to watch

Eyes on the Prize

Renee`

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on October 16, 2012 - 1:52 am

    I am so proud of you for following God’s lead! Love you!
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by danigeorge25 on October 16, 2012 - 11:35 am

    It has been awesome to see you grow and can’t to see where God will continue to take you! Lobe you.

  3. #3 by Venus on October 23, 2012 - 4:53 am

    Hey Nee!! Kudos to you on having a good convo w/ the person you talked about in your previous post..Also kudos on the kickboxing! I’m proud of you as well! It’s such a blessing to see how much you have grown as a person and in your relationship! Wow has been 8 months already? Time sure does fly by fast! I’m glad that you and LaDarren are doing well on the co-parenting.I can tell that you really love LaDarren’s son! I’m glad that you and Erick are getting along well…Also that ya’ll are doing what is best for Daniel. I’m glad to see Erick’s growth…We remember where he started which wasn’t a good place to say it nicely. lol! I’m glad that LaDarren is a blessing to you and Daniel! =) I feel where you coming from w/ not wanting someone w/ kids..lol..I sure don’t want a guy that has one, however, if God does bless me w/ a guy that has one then I will cross that bridge when I get to it..lol..I find it funny that I’m kind of like cut em loose now (guys that is) especially if I feel like they aren’t putting in any effort towards trying to get to know me..lol..I know I have to work on that! I’m so quick to be like NEXT especially if they turn me off! lol! Anyway LOVE YOU! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

