The Inner Game of Faith Part 3~Audrey

Discussing the third chapter of The Inner Game of Faith by W. Timothy Gallwey and how it relates to horseback riding, faith, and my radical journey

Catch up here:

Quieting Self 1

In his book Gallwey likens tennis practice to baseball. Instead of being the player, you should be the umpire. The umpire is not biased. He has no emotional stake in a play. He just calls each play as he sees. Players have to do the same and not put negative or positive emotions in their plays.

As a horse back rider, I put an emotional value on everything. I couldn’t get Baba to do what I wanted? I would beat myself up and feel bad about myself. I had a break through in our trot or canter? I was on the moon. The emotion I felt that day dictated how well I practiced.

As I judged myself, I got to the point where I didn’t enjoy riding. It was a huge stressor in my life. But as I slowly pictured what I should look like, let go of judgment and moved with my gelding, riding became easier and fun. I let go of judgment that led to anger, displeasure, and frustration.

Gallwey says that Self 1 wants all the credit. It wants to brag about doing well. But faith in itself does not boast. Faith shouldn’t be about how we view ourselves as Christians in comparison to others. We should give up preconceived notion of what we should be, and let God mold us.

Walking with Jesus is an emotional experience so it is hard to removed emotional judgments of your actions. It’s not that we should remove emotions, but the judgment of how we measure up to anyone other than Christ. We cannot all be Mother Teresa nor should we be. God made us special with a specific purpose.

As I learn to trust Baba more, we accomplished more advanced skills. As I learn to trust God more, I walk down a more meaningful path. I have let go of comparing myself to other riders and Christians in order to motivate myself. I let God (and Baba) move me instead.

  1. #1 by Jackeline on October 31, 2012 - 7:03 am

    I consider something truly special in this internet site.

  2. #2 by Venus on November 1, 2012 - 8:11 am

    Excuse my super slow moment, as I was reading your post I was like who is Baba? Then I realized that you were talking about the horse..lol! Anyway great post Audrey! I’m loving your series on the inner Game of Faith. It’s very insightful! I love how you include your own story within the lesson from the book. I think of Self 1 as our flesh. We have to yield our flesh over to God (I hope you understand what I mean by that). I love what you said about faith! Love you! ~Venus

  3. #3 by starsinhereye on November 1, 2012 - 3:09 pm

    That is absolutely the way to think about it! We have to let our spiritual side move us not our human side. Thanks for reading and the support!

  1. The Inner Game of Faith Part 4~Audrey « radical7even

Leave a Reply

