2 Events ~Venus

So on Tuesday, 2 powerful events happened..The 1st event involved a celebration my celibacy. I’ve been celibate for 2 yrs.  Praise God! It hasn’t been an easy journey. I’m going to be honest, I have been having “urges” lately..It’s not even funny. I haven’t acted upon them…However, a part of me wants to..lol..I know the cost of it won’t be worth it  (spiritual cost). I’m hoping that I can be married within 2 yrs because I don’t know how much longer I can last..lol..My desires  are growing primarily for companionship and a career. On the 28th of this month, it will be 7 months that I’ve been single. The singleness has been hard to deal with but it has gotten better. I know what I need/want relationship wise. I’m praying for God to keep me. I’m doing my best to wait on him. =)

The 2nd event was voting. Of course, ya’ll know that Tuesday was Election Day. This was my 2nd time voting.  I was an undecided voter for this election. I don’t consider myself as a full Democrat or Republican. There are some views that I agree and disagree w/ both parties. I missed out on a lot when it came to most important things before the election such as the  presidential debates and  the Republican Party/Democratic Party Conventions. I missed out on it due to me being at work when  they came on. I tried to play catch up by at least viewing the plans of both President Barak Obama and his opponent Mitt Romney. It was a lot to read so umm I glanced at some parts..lol..One of my friends told me to look at the issues that are most important to me on both sides and then that will make it easier for me to decide..I ended up making a decision. However, it was a hard one. I stared at my ballot for a very long time.  lol!

I have a really quick funny story..On Election Day, I went to the wrong place (the AU Hotel) to vote..Smh..I got up early that morning  just so I could vote. I’m so not a morning person!  The funny thing is I looked up the location that I was supposed to vote at before I went to bed that morning. All I remembered was that I was supposed to go to a hotel to vote..lol..When I went the wrong location they directed me to another hotel  (the Lexington) which is down the street from my apt. So I ended up going to the right place and voting! =) Later on that night, I found out the President Obama got re-elected! This election was a really close race.  I almost thought that our president wasn’t going to win.

I don’t have anything else to write..So I guess this is the end of this post! lol! God bless!

~Venus

  1. #1 by radical7even on November 13, 2012 - 5:21 pm

    So glad to hear about your two year anniversary! I am so proud of you! I am also proud of you for voting on the issues! You are doing such radical things! Love you!
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by Renee N. Chafffin on November 13, 2012 - 8:10 pm

    Yay for two years! I get the whole single thing. I was single for two years before I met Darren, my last boyfriend was back in 2008…so technically i was 4 years boyfriend free..so actually a lot longer. I are interested in dating at all? what about hanging out in groups it can be a great way to meet new people without the pressure of a one on one situation.

  3. #3 by Venus on November 14, 2012 - 9:07 am

    Thanks Audrey!!! Love you too!! To Nee: Yeah, I don’t really have a lot of ppl I hang w/ up here..lol..I have more associates than I do friends up here. I like the idea of hanging in groups though..My social life is non-existent..lol..I’m Ms. All Work & No Play for the most part..lol…Every blue moon I hang out w/ people.I’m interested in dating but I haven’t had too much of luck in that department..lol..I don’t have a lot of dudes coming my way so I feel discouraged right now.

  4. #4 by Renee N. Chaffin on November 14, 2012 - 3:30 pm

    Hey Venus,
    Don’t be discouraged. Are you linked up with a church? many now have strong singles ministries and they usually have events and activities for the singles to get involved with. If you are connected with one that would be my first suggestion; hopefully you will meet like minded people that way. I want to encourage you to speak what you want into the atmosphere. If you want a husband speak over him every day. “Lord, you know the desires of my heart, I pray for a man after Your heart and I know that You will provide that.” Then don’t put so much pressure on it..things will begin to fall into place.

  5. #5 by Venus on November 25, 2012 - 3:00 am

    Hey Nee! I’m sorry for the late reply! I just saw that your responded to this post! lol!! I have a church home but I don’t attend often. We don’t have a singles’ ministry. We are a very small church.Yes, I will speak those things into the atmosphere!! Thanks so much for your encouraging words/advice! Love you!!! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

