New Adventures of Old Danielle

November is the official month of thanks. On social media networks, I see daily stats from my friends stating what they are thankful for: jobs, support system, kids, transportation, and the like. Thus is a great month to reflect on God’s mercy and the blessings he has rained on us and prayerfully will continue in the future. I challenge you to daily journal  the things that you are thankful for and when things look bleak, go back and look. It will definitely put things in perspective.

I was planning to do seperate blogs for the couple of radical moments that I’ve had in the past several weeks but I decided to bundle them in one massive blog.

My first radical moment revolves around my car. I went to a local tire and auto shop where I got an oil change. After doing the oil change, they gave me a courtesy check which basically gives you a rundown of the things that needs to be changed or replaced and how much they would charge. So, they gave me the sheet and it showed me that I would be needing new tires, an air filter, rear light bulbs, and etc. The service and labor turned out to be around $400. Yikes!! Soo, I paid for my oil change and thanked the worker for my courtesy check. I decided what I would do is to change the things that I could and pray/save up for the rest. My first task was to change my air filter. My brother showed me where it was and how to do it. So, I went to the auto shop and picked up my air filter, $7.69 (it was quoted $19.99 on the courtesy check) and when I got home, I installed it for FREE (labor was quoted as $13). After changing my air filter, I felt like:

image

As consumers, how many times are we overcharged simply because we don’t know and it we don’t research. As Christians, how many blessings are blocked or passes over because we do not seek HIS word, because we do not ask?

Second Radical Moment: I started  a new job at a Day Rehabilitation for individuals with Developmental Disabilities. It’s only been a week but I’m really enjoying my time there. No day is the same. I haven’t seem them at their worst but everyday I’m praying and believing that everything that I go through gives me tools to use for my purpose in God’s Kingdom. These ladies and guys have already been teaching me how to really enjoy the simple things. No matter what their limitations may be, they  are happy. They remind me that we as brothers and sisters in Christs are more alike than different. This statement was brought home by an event that happened this Friday, Nov. 16. There was a Thanksgiving dance that was given for the individuals with different disabilities ranging from pre-teen to senior citizens. I was so surprised how similar it was to parties that I attended during my college days. There were cliques who were taking group pictures. There were guys posted up on the wall. There were attention seeking girls who were shaking what they mama gave them, and it was guys who stayed on the dance floor and danced to every song. I got unwanted attention. It was a typical dance. Again, we are more alike than we are different.

Third and Last Radical Moment:
Public Speaking. I dislike public speaking. My close friends are probably laughing at the previous statement because around them, my mouth is never closed…lol. But speaking in front of crowds gives me anxiety. A month ago, the church Secretary called and asked to do the welcome and occasion for our annual pastor’s anniversary. My first thought was NO but YES came out of my mouth. This moment was radical for me because most times, I would fret from the day I was told til the actual day but this time, I just wrote the speech a couple of days before Sunday. I read it to my mom one time and read it over a couple of times Sunday then when the time came, I did it and it was done. Yes, I was nervous. Yes, I read my speech fast. But, I did it.

Happy Turkey Day!

Still Pushing with Thanksgiving in my Heart,

Dani

  1. #1 by Renee N. Chaffin on November 20, 2012 - 2:23 pm

    I love reading everyone’s blog it helps keep me focused and encouraged. Way to go about the car thing..i am always intimidated by things like that..i always say one day I will learn..and then get distracted so kudos to you!
    lol @ your mouth never closing…from day one..literally I have never seen you quiet LOL so i had no idea about public speaking…it is like one of the number one fears though so it makes sense. Even comedians get nervous before they step in front of a crowd..so you’re in good company.

  2. #2 by radical7even on November 20, 2012 - 4:49 pm

    So excited for you! Each radical moment is a closer step to God! You are are so awesome!
    Thank you for these uplifting stories; today I need it!
    ~Audrey

  3. #3 by Venus on November 25, 2012 - 2:57 am

    Hey Dani!!!! I hate to hear that your courtesy check was $400!! WOO WEE that’s a lot of money there! lol! I’m glad that your brother was able to help you w/ changing your filter and that you got the filter on sale! The Thanksgiving dance at your job sounded like it was fun! It seems like your clients had a great time! I’m glad that your speech went well! lol @ you saying it fast!!! I have those moments when I say yes to things that I want to say no too (especially when my job calls to ask me to work on my off day lol). I’m proud of your radical moments!!! Keep on being radical! Love you! ~Venus

  4. #4 by Venus on November 25, 2012 - 3:03 am

    I’m just curious to know if you named the title of your blog after the show The New Adventures of the Old Christine? lol. I think that’s the name of that show..lol…I read your title and I was like that title sounds familiar..lol..~Venus

Leave a Reply

