~Audrey

This last week and a half has been unproductive. For my blogs, for my goals, for myself. Today’s post is a post of stress and sadness but a post of hope and blessings as well.

Monday was a very busy day at work. We were preparing for Volunteer Appreciation as well as the upcoming holidays. I was on top of the world. Good dinner, good friends, the guy I’m dating was coming, and fun. The dinner itself went smoothly and my bosses came as well. They were pleased with the night and how well we had planned it.

Afterwards they needed to speak with us—separately. They fired my co-worker, the only the only other full time employee. Because she was also my friend, that didn’t want me to know and stress me out. But I am stressed out no matter what. They said we would have a plan of action in five to seven days. They had some idea about who they wanted to hire next but they didn’t know when the new person will come in.

Putting aside any feelings I have for my friend and co-worker, this situation is not pleasant. I had no idea what was going on and now I will be alone on site for the second time in a year. This leaves everything to fall on me. In fact, there were things I had to handle that I almost forgot. On top of this work stress, I was also dealing with things at home.

While many of you were sitting down to a big Thanksgiving dinner, I was getting my mother home from the hospital. On Wednesday, she had two of her vertebrae fused. About six years ago, she had three fused and a rod put in. It was a terrible ordeal. She was in the hospital for five days and took months for her to heal. This time they were doing a new procedure. They would go through her abdomen, move her stomach over, detach her aorta and put in the new disk. It should take two hours. This new procedure would be easier with a shorter healing time, but I was nervous because it was new. In preparation she could only drink clear fluids and had to drink the solution they give for colonoscopy. She was miserable for three days before her surgery.

Wednesday we had to be there by six a.m. They signed her in but didn’t take her back to prep for an hour. At eight, we said good bye and they took her back. She was in holding for two hours before her surgery started. About 45 minutes after we were notified that that the surgery had started, the doctor came out. I almost lost my mind. It was so fast something had to be wrong.

But they were already done! Everything went very easily. She lost very little blood. But she would be in ICU because of the medication they were giving her. When I arrived Thanksgiving morning, she was sitting up and joking. In fact, she got to come home early yesterday afternoon! It was amazing! She and my family were so blessed! She continues to do better each day, and I haven’t stopped praying. So sadness was over come by hope and faith.

This week is extra stressful because the majority of my goals have gone out the widow. I haven’t exercised all week, my blogging was non-existent, and I haven’t read my Bible since Monday. I have gone on a date and did my savings account but I feel spiritually drained because I have lost my way for the week. But I am starting over now and getting back on track. That’s the great thing about this journey; I had always got back on.

  1. #1 by danigeorge25 on November 24, 2012 - 12:34 pm

    I agree Audrey, no matter if we fall off, the easiest solution, just to get back on. ‘Just Keep Swimming’.

  2. #2 by Renee N. Chaffin on November 24, 2012 - 8:58 pm

    A So glad that the surgery went so well! I’m sorry things at work have been rough, but Keep pushing. God will bring you through love you!

  3. #3 by Venus on November 25, 2012 - 2:51 am

    Hey Audrey Bear! That is my new nickname for you! lol! I hope you like it! lol! Anyway I hate that you’re going through all that stuff at work and your co-worker/friend was fired! I know that she is affected by that in a negative way. I also know how it is to have everything fall on you at work..I know the stress!! lol!!! You’ll get through this situation!!! I’m so glad that your mom’s surgery was a success and that it went well! I’ll continue to keep you and your family in my prayers! Love you! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

