How Can I Look Ahead? ~Venus

Hello everyone! I want to start this post discussing some of the radical moments I had this month. One of my Radical7even goals is to learn how to do my hair in natural hairstyles. If you’re like me, you know how to do a few things w/ your hair. All I know how to do is flat iron my hair, twist outs, bantu knots, and put my hair in a ponytail (lol). For a few weeks I been trying to copy  Janelle Monae’s hairstyle. I have watched a few Youtube  (YT) tutorials about it and also french roll tutorials.

In the beginning when I began trying out the hairstyle, I could figure out how to do the pompadour but not the french roll. I was getting frustrated because I couldn’t figure out how to it. It seem like every YT video I watched about french rolls seemed so easy, but when I tried to do it it was a fail. If you’re like me, when it comes to hair you’ll need a SLOW video that will go step by step so you can learn. I finally came across this YT vid that made it easy for me to learn how to do a french roll: . On Dec. 12th, I finally perfected the hairstyle! I was so HAPPY!! I got the pompadour right and the french roll! I was like YAY I did it! Here is a pic of my pomadour:

TrialHairstyle12-12-12

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I couldn’t get a good pic of my french roll because the camera on my phone sucks..lol..For my pompadour, I parted I did side parts on the right and left of the front of my hair. So I had like a square box of hair..lol..I twisted my hair loosely to the right. Shaped it how I wanted it and then pinned it down w/ hairpins.

Another radical moment I had was eating an oyster. On Friday, Dec. 14th I had went out to eat w/ my dad and half brother. My dad took us out to eat to celebrate my half-brother’s birthday (his birthday was on Dec. 16th. He turned 33. Anyway my dad ordered oysters for his appetizer. I never had oysters before. He told me to try it and I had a like eww I don’t want that look on my face..lol..I finally tried it. I picked the smallest oyster I saw and ate it..lol…I put my oyster on a cracker w/ cocktail sauce on top of it. It was ok but it’s not something I would eat on a regular basis.

The last radical moment I had this month was painting my toe nails. I know to most ppl that isn’t radical..lol..Anyone that knows me, know that I’m not a “girly girl”. I don’t usually paint my fingernails and toenails. I haven’t painted them I don’t know how long. I painted my toe nails last week on Dec. 21st. I painted my toe nails 5 different colors on each foot just in a different order.  The colors I used were yellow, red, green, lime green, and white. On Friday, Dec. 7th, I went to my job’s Christmas party. We had a raffle for prizes. I picked my gift and I chose a gift basket that had “girly stuff” in it like different nail polishes, a PediSpin, massaging slippers, a lavender candle,  lavender bath beads, a nail buffer block, small lotion, a small size perfume, a small size both wash, Caress soap, glimmer gloves, a bath puff, and nail polish remover. You may ask why I stated that..lol..Basically the nail polish I used came from the gift basket..lol..Here is a pic of my toenails:

ChristmasToenails12-20-12

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The last pic I’m posting in this post is a pic of the fishtail braid I did on my doll’s hair last month. Yes, I have a doll…lol..She is the only doll I have. I had her since high school.  She is a Bratz doll and her name is Sasha.

FishtailBraid12-10-12

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The last radical moment I had this month was applying for food stamps. I’m going to be honest, I didn’t want to apply for them even though it’s been on my mind on a while to apply for them. I got approved for them! Yay! Praise God!  I hope that I won’t have to be on them no longer than a yr (hopefully less than that). The reason why I applied for them is because I usually don’t have a lot of money for food after I pay bills. My mom helps me out w/ food from time to time but I don’t want to depend on her any longer for that. However, if she does offer to assist me w/ food I will accept.

Ok so now all the radical moments are the way, let’s get into what the 2nd half of my post is about. As you can see the title of this post is How Can I Look Ahead? The reason why I named my post that is because that’s a question that I’ve been asking myself. This month has been rough for me. I was laid off from my job on Dec. 7th. Financially I’m not doing so great but I’m praying that God will work everything out..especially since my rent is due next week.  I recently filed for unemployment so I’m hoping that money will come through before my rent is due.

Right now, I feel like I’m in a valley/storm and I want it to be over. Have you ever been in place where your circumstances make it hard to look forward to a better future or you can’t see how you you’re going to get out of your situation? Well that’s where I am right now. I want a better life for myself. I want to be a better place financially (more stability). I get tired of living from paycheck to paycheck..Overall, worrying about money. I want to have a better paying job and a job that I love. I want to have my driver’s license and a car. I want my own apt by myself w/o roommates. I want a lot of things that I don’t have right now. I guess you can say that I’m trying to figure out what I can do to get where I want to be. Basically how to get from point A to point B. I have a life coach that is assisting me w/ that. =) I know that I will get there soon but in the meantime, I have to keep pushing to get where I would like to be. Please keep me in ya’ll prayers and leave me words of encouragement below. God bless!

~Venus

P.S. I watched Joel Osteen’s message “God’s Control Over the Storm”. It really blessed me tonight. I will have another post done by this week so I can have my Dec. posts done. =)

  1. #1 by radical7even on December 24, 2012 - 6:18 am

    I can really identify with the financial worry because I have had times like that where it seemed like the struggle would never end. You are right to pray and give that worry to God because He is bigger than our biggest problem. He has your future all planned out and you just keep on trusting Him with that. Love you! ***Pam***

  2. #2 by Venus on December 25, 2012 - 7:35 am

    I’m glad you can identify w/ my issues! lol! Yeah, going through financial worry isn’t fun at all! Thanks for your words of encouragement! Thank you Pam! Love you! ~Venus

  3. #3 by starsinhereye on December 27, 2012 - 8:27 pm

    Congrats on your radical moments! You are blazing through! Love yoU!
    ~Audrey

  4. #4 by Venus on December 29, 2012 - 9:07 pm

    Thank Audrey! Love you too!

Leave a Reply

