End of Year Progress Report ~Venus

Hello everyone! So this yr is almost over! Wow, I can’t believe it! The year has really flown by!  I’m hoping that next yr will be a lot better for me because this yr has been rough for me!  Anyway below is my progress on my goals.

1.) To get a job in my field. 

Progress: Some

Well I haven’t got a job in my field yet. =( I have been job searching so that’s a start. I’ve only applied to one job. I haven’t heard back from them. I think that I could be doing better on this goal as far as applying for more jobs.

2.) To get my permit and hopefully a driver’s license. 

Progress: None

I haven’t progressed on this goal. I had a permit but it expired. I got it renewed once and I can’t renew it anymore. So that’s why I have to get a new one. Next year I plan on studying for the test so I can get my permit. Then I can practice my driving skills.

3.) To discover my life’s purpose by spending time with God through reading the bible, prayer, and fasting.

Progress: Some

Well I still don’t know what my full life purpose is. However, I will say that God has been giving me a little bit more clarity and direction. Somehow I came across this book called Process to Your Purpose: Living Through Your Passions by Chante Truscott. She has a page called Wives in Waiting on Facebook. She also a website http://www.wivesinwaiting.com

Anyway I’m not exactly sure how I came across her book. I read a little bit of her testimony. On Amazon, it lets you look inside the book and read very limited parts of the book.  The part of the book I read was how God blessed her with a job she wasn’t qualified for. A few weeks ago, the director of the clinic I volunteer at, told me her testimony of how God gave her visions of where she would be working at in her life. Everything at the time didn’t make sense to her.  As time passed, everything began to come together. She told me how she went from working in the corporate world in IT to being the director of a small clinic. You may ask where I’m going with this? My point of mentioning both scenarios is that God is giving me bits and pieces to my purpose. I’ll be glad when everything comes all together. OAS: I plan on making myself a vision board! =) I think it will be a good way to encourage myself.

4.) To have to College Transition Program up and running by next year. 

Progress: Some

I have ideas for the program but I’m still trying to figure out how to get it off the ground. So I guess I can say I have some progress towards this goal.

5.) To go on dates whether it’s by myself or w/ guys. 

Progress: Some

Well I haven’t went on any dates w/ any guys. I haven’t been on date w/ a guy since the beginning of this yr and that was when I was in a relationship (I’m not in a relationship now). =(  I can’t believe it’s been 9 months and 1 day since I’ve been single! WOW! Anyway I have been hanging out with my friends. Last week, one of my closest girlfriends visited me. She spent the night for 2 nights. I was so happy! I be so happy when people visit me because it rarely happens…lol.

I hardly have company. I also got to hang out w/my HIS this year so that was pretty cool. I also hung out w/ my best friend quite a bit. She lives in the same area I do so that makes me very happy! =) I know what I mentioned hanging out with my female friends aren’t dates but it makes me happy when I’m around my friends. I haven’t been on a lot of dates w/ myself. I don’t take myself out much..lol…I need to work on that. It seems like taking myself out is running errands..lol..

I do enjoy myself when I read books, catch up on my tv show, watching Youtube vids, reading an article, or reading a book. Spending time w/ myself is refreshing. I have the time to chill.  OAS: I have to work on spending more this w/ God. I’m happy to say that I have read 1st  2nd Chronicles, 1st/2nd Kings, Jeremiah, Isaiah, and 1st/2nd Samuel (I have 3 or 4 more chapters to go on 2nd Samuel and I’ll be done). I have learned a lot from reading those books!

6.) To learn new recipes! 

Progress: Some

I haven’t really learned many new recipes. I’m learning now that I have plan ahead w/ recipes that I want to try. On Thursday, I made pigs in a blanket. I never made them before. Here is a pic of how they turned out:

Pigs in a blanket Dec272012

7.) To learn how to do my natural hair.

Progress: Some

A few weeks ago, I perfected  the Janelle Monae inspired hairstyle that I’ve been wanting to try.  It took me a while to learn how to do it. I have to learn some more hairstyles now! =)

God bless! Have a HAPPY SOON TO BE NEW YR EVERYONE!

~Venus

P.S. Happy Early B-Day to my girl Renee! Her B-Day is tomorrow! =) Love you Nee! I hope that this post didn’t sound like I was rambling. lol! I think I rambled on goal 5..lol..A lot of times when I write, I think of multiple things. That’s how my brain works!

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on January 3, 2013 - 5:05 pm

    Wish I had been around to have a pig in a blanket! Yum! keep being radical girl. This post clearly outlines where you need to focus next! Good luck! Love you!
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by Venus on January 4, 2013 - 8:36 am

    I think you would had enjoyed the pigs in a blanket! You keep on being radical as well! Yes, I have a lot to work on! lol! Thank you for your comments! Love you too! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

