The Silverlinings Playbook~Audrey

What it feels like to have manic depression

What it feels like to have manic depression

January is Thyroid Awareness month. Hands up if you know what your thyroid is? Alright, now put your hand down if you know what a thyroid is because you have a disorder concerning this organ. See? That isn’t many of the general population that knows what the organ is and what it does.
Your thyroid is a little organ at the base of your neck that affects every other organ in your body. It’s part of the endocrine system, which is basically the body’s hormone delivery system. It also includes various brain organs, the kidneys, and your reproductive organs. Often, when one goes out of whack, several of the others will too.
I have written on several occasions about my teenage fight with manic depression. I have also mentioned that the bouts I suffered were directly related to the fact that my thyroid does not produce enough hormones to keep my brain and body in check.
When you look up hypothyroidism you can read many signs and symptoms: fatigue, loss of hair, weight gain, weight loss, and menstrual complications. What I don’t see listed as often is depression and delusions. Because of negative feedback to the brain, several hormones are not provided that keep the brain and emotions in balance. Once I was able to get my thyroid under control, my emotions settled and my self-worth improved. It was like a magical veil was lifted. I was slowly weaned off my antidepressant and learned to ways to cope with the issues that I faced.
For years I have heard people tell me how lucky I was to be so thin. I kind of smile and say if you only knew. I was underweight for some time due to my thyroid disorder and have worked hard to become a healthy weight. I try to explain, to those who will listen, that I am not lucky and that they would not want to go what I went through just to be skinny.
If you have seen The Silver Linings Playbook, you have seen a portrayal of what bipolar disorder is. But you have also seen what happens to someone with manic depression. We go through those same manic moods where we think we can do anything, and when we crash? Well, it’s not pretty.
So, no joke, the thyroid is important area of concern for you, your loved ones, and your children. It’s also very common to have some kind of thyroid disorder. We need to support our fellow people who suffer from this disorder. Our bodies may not be made correctly, but God gave us doctors and medications to help us. He also gave us friends to support us. And that is the silver lining.

  1. #1 by Renee N. Chaffin on January 14, 2013 - 7:29 pm

    Your blogs are always are so insightful. I thank you for being brave and open enough to share your struggles. It will help someone else. 🙂 love you

  2. #2 by Venus on January 16, 2013 - 8:32 am

    Hey Audrey! I love how this post is very informational and also relates to your own personal life. I should feel ashamed because I’m not super knowledgeable about the thyroid..lol..SMH! Anyway I’m glad that you’re at a healthy weight and that you deal w/ your manic depression the best way you can! =) Love you!

Leave a Reply

