Headed to Warmer Weather ***Pam***

I have not made much headway on my goals recently. It feels like I am just able to put one foot in front of the other right now. Winter is not my season. I loathe it, dread it, and try to pretend it doesn’t exist until it’s at my door. I am a warm weather creature. I am sure had God made me an animal, it would have been a lizard. Sitting on a sunny rock in 100 degree plus weather is my idea of bliss. I tolerate spring and fall but I live for summer. I often wonder why we close ourselves inside walls for so much of our lives. Except in really bad weather, I always prefer to be outside. Maybe this is why I have such a kindred connection with plants. We both need the sunshine just to flourish. I have psoriasis and depression as my main medical battles. Both of these problems are easier to keep in check with a bit of sunshine. I give thanks for each day God gives me with my family, but some are truly better than others. There has been a good bit of chaos this winter in my family. This has made it difficult to keep my depression from taking over. I am glad God gave me a strong husband to face the struggles with me. Still, there are times when I feel like I am desperate for direction from my heavenly Father. When I need a place where I can still my thoughts and hear Him, I go to my garden. That is not quite as comfortable on cold days like today. For the next 2 days I will be working outside. I dread the temperature, but it will still be worth it to be outside. So I will put on my multiple layers of clothing and sip my hot tea and soup. I have faith that I will make it to the warm blessings on the other side of this winter. God is teaching me that it’s enough just to know you are headed in the right direction.

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on January 17, 2013 - 8:40 pm

    Pam, thank you for sharing. Winter is not fun at all. I started using full spectrum lightbulbs in the winter and it helps with my seasonal blues. Maybe its something you could try. I pray that the Heavenly Father gives you some direction! Love you!
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by Venus on January 21, 2013 - 8:03 am

    I hate the winter! lol! I like warm weather too but not to the point where I’m melting..lol..You’ll reach your goals Pam! Strive to work on them when you have the time. I’ll be praying you and your family! Also that the depression will wear off! Love you! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

