Slowing Down Means Moving Forward- Renee`

I woke up this morning with so much peace in my heart and happiness..and this is before my feet even touched the floor. I have dedicated this year to really reconnecting with God and have made efforts to spend more time reading the Bible, reading devotions and in prayer every morning and evening; it has SOOO helped my overall attitude.

This morning I really felt God say “Be still”. I have been running around Like Martha (Luke 10:38- 41) and at this point I hear Him beckoning me to me like Mary. Sit by my feet and just listen. The world is so busy all the time; 24 hours news, fast food places, deadlines, due dates..everything is pushing and pulling you to go faster, do more, be more. If your calendar is not booked up for the next six months then you must not be doing something right. We feel guilty for taking time off; even if we are sick.

I just don’t believe that is how God wants me to live any more. The more I see what I waste my time on; the more I realize that if I just used my time more wisely (first giving it to Him) then my entire day, week, month and year will fall into place. I have a testimony brewing and I can just feel it, but I will wait for everything to fall into place.

This morning a car that was in such a hurry ran a red light, I was getting ready to make a right hand turn (which would have been allowed since his light was already red) but something said..slow down. On most mornings even when I leave early for work I still feel rushed and pressured..had this been one of those mornings. I would have taken that right hand turn and that car that ran that red light; well I would have gotten to know the driver a lot more personally. I thank God that I listened. I am really trying to take serious being obedient to the Holy Spirit..today it saved Etta the Jetta from going to the mechanic, but also some heart ache and pain.

I was also reading this morning about a young girl who lost her battle with cancer. She created a bucket list and actually was able to accomplish all her list. You can read more of her story here: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/01/14/alice-pyne-dead-bucket-list-teen-cancer_n_2474377.html?utm_hp_ref=teen

Time is so precious and I really want to start investing my time more wisely 🙂

Here is the Scripture reference for those who might not take the time to read it :

At the Home of Martha and Mary

38 As Jesus and his disciples were on their way, he came to a village where a woman named Martha opened her home to him. 39 She had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet listening to what he said. 40 But Martha was distracted by all the preparations that had to be made. She came to him and asked, “Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell her to help me!”

41 “Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, 42 but few things are needed—or indeed only one.[f] Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.”

#just trust

Renee`

  1. #1 by Venus on January 21, 2013 - 8:18 am

    Hey Nee! I’m glad that you felt so much joy when you woke up! KUDOS to you for doing what you needed to do to get in tune with God! I remember in one of your posts, you mentioned something along the lines of not attending church a whole lot last yr and how you wanted to change that this yr by attending church more. So I congratulate you for putting in the effort w/ your spiritual life! I can’t wait to hear about your soon to be testimony! =) I’m glad you didn’t make that right hand turn! You don’t need to be in any accidents! So yes, you save Etta the Jetta! lol!! LOVE YOU TONS! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

