The Boy and the Boat~Audrey

I read a devotional recently that told the story of the little boy and the boat. A young boy hand carved a boat from a block of wood. He worked hard and was so excited when it was finished! He took it to a nearby stream to race it. In his excitement, he didn’t notice the under current that washed the little boat away. He returned home saddened that he had lost what he had worked so hard to make. A few days later the boy saw his boat in a toy shop window. When the boy explained what had happened the shop owner requested payment for the item. The boy pleaded with him, but the shop owner did not change his mind. The boy went home and pulled all the coins from his piggy bank. He bought the boat back exclaiming, “Little boat, you are twice mine, Once because I mad you and once because I bought you.”*
This powerful story is a great analogy for how much God loves us. He created us with loving care and then paid for our sins with the most precious gift: his son. I don’t have children, but I can’t imagine giving my son up for someone else. This is how much he loves us.
It’s also a story of coming home. Life has become crazy lately. My life is full of drama, and every time I turn around, something needs fixing. In the chaos, it was easy to forget to pray and read my Bible or devotions. But I slowly realized that when I asked for help, it was provided. I became swept up in the current, but God has found me and brought me home.
We must choose to come home to him every day. He will welcome us with open arms.

*”The Love of God” by Mary Southerland

  1. #1 by danigeorge25 on March 7, 2013 - 11:12 pm

    Beautiful story and I love the comparison!

  2. #2 by Venus on March 8, 2013 - 4:16 am

    Hey Audrey! I love the comparison as well! I love how you related the story to our spiritual lives. I know I would mad if I made a boat, lost it, found it again, and then had to pay for it..lol.. Love you!

  3. #3 by renee n smith on March 8, 2013 - 5:15 pm

    Amen! This is a wonderful reminder of His goodness towards us. Thank you for sharin

Leave a Reply

