My Week Off ~Venus

Hello everyone!  I’ve mostly been sitting at home all week. I was off work this week due to the students being out on Spring Break. I was also off last weekend. Last Saturday, two of my friends from college visited me. That was really nice! I haven’t seen them in a few yrs. Tuesday one of my friends visited me. I ran into a dilemma a little bit because as one of friends was coming over to visit, another friend called me (a female) and told me that she was in town..I didn’t have a chance to hang out w/ my female friend because she left town by the time I contacted her to tell her that my visitor had left. I thought my female friend was going to contact me before she left town so we could see each other but something came up on her end. Wednesday, I volunteered. I found out that one of my client’s had her baby last month. She was originally due this week. She had a boy! I was so excited that everything went well w/ her pregnancy.

Thursday, I ran errands. I have some good news, I have a new mentor. My 1st session was w/ her last Tuesday. It went pretty well! She gave me some homework to do so I been working on it last . I had a few radical moments this week. I applied for a job today! =) I applied for the Special Deliveries Case Manager position w/ East Alabama Mental Health. I really hope that I get an interview. I had a really hard time trying to figure what to write for the cover letter. I spend 3 hrs working on it. Smh! I was an intern w/ East Alabama Mental Health my senior of college. I really liked the environment there.

On Thursday, I got a Berry Punch smoothie from Smoothie King. That was my 1st smoothie from there. Smh!  A few weeks ago I made Caribbean I made smores today..I never made it on my own today. The first batch burned..lol..I put it in the oven for less than 10 mins. I wasn’t expecting them to burn. I decided to make a second batch..The 2nd time around I put the smores in the microwave. I melted the chocolate by itself for 45 seconds. Then I put the graham crackers and marshmallows in the microwave for about 30 seconds. After that, I put drizzled the chocolate on top of the marshmallow for each graham cracker  and then I put the other graham cracker on top of the marshmallows. Popped them back in the microwave for another 5 seconds. They were yummy!

I think that I could have been more productive this week. Sitting at the house made me a little lazy. lol! I got some things done but I think I could have gotten some more work done. I planned on doing my homework that my mentor and life coach gave me..Also working on sorority stuff.Overall, I don’t think that I did that bad.

On Thursday, I apologized to one of my former friends to what I did to her when we were Freshmen in college. Me and her had a falling out. After the situation transpired (when we were in school), she stopped talking to me and we went our separate ways. I felt lead to ask for her forgiveness. Let’s just say that things didn’t go well. She pretty much went off on me and told me that she wasn’t ever going to forgive me. It was about 7 yrs ago that the situation happened. I was just amazed at how angry and bitter she was after all these yrs.

I tried my best to keep my composure and not lash back at her because I knew that she was speaking out of anger. However, she did make me angry because she told me things such as I was a phony/fake friend, I think that I’m perfect,  and I’m always pointing fingers. I have no clue where that came from. I had to pray for God to take away the anger I had towards her. It took everything for me not to go off on her..I’m opposite of who she says I am. I’m not the same person that I was when I was 18 yrs old. I’m 25 now (me and her are the same age) and I’ve matured a whole lot. Every since I contacted her, the conversation that her and I had weighed heavily on my spirit. I don’t like that I caused someone to be hurt. I dislike conflict so it was a lot take in. I talked to 2 of my friends about the conversation that me and my former friend had. They told me not to worry about it. I done my part and what was right by apologizing/asking for forgiveness). That’s all for now! God bless!

~Venus

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on March 20, 2013 - 1:34 am

    I am so proud of you for applying for a job. But keep it up! Jobs are like men; sometimes you have to kiss a lot of rfrogs! hehe
    I think that your most radical moment was apologizing to your friend. I have a lot of respect for you. I could never do it face to face or on the phone. But m aybe if God led me there….
    Keep your chin up!
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by Venus on March 22, 2013 - 3:32 am

    Thank you Audrey Bear! Lol @ jobs are like men! Well it was kind of hard to keep my composure since she was lashing out at me..lol. I was like God keep me lol. It’s hard to ask for someone’s forgiveness when they are angry at you. Love you! ~Venus

  3. #3 by Renee N. Smith on March 26, 2013 - 12:57 pm

    I thought I replied to this but I guess not. the most important part of this entire thing is that you were obedient to what God told you to do. I have always been told you are not responsible for anyone’s reaction, but you are responsible for doing what YOU know you should do and kudos. The main thing to remember is now you are free of that burden and can move on in your life 🙂
    Yay for applying for jobs, believe me I know how unfun that is, but I also know how God will move when you step out. Eventhough I applied for a million jobs…ironically I didn’t get those jobs. It is a testimony how this position opened up for me, but I believe it was my faith that opened the door. I knew God had this worked out I just did not know how. And He worked it out beautifully. love you!

  4. #4 by Venus on March 28, 2013 - 8:00 pm

    Hey Nee! Thanks for commenting! Yes, you’re right we aren’t responsible for someone else’s reaction. I think if I didn’t contact her, she wouldn’t had told me how she felt. Yes, applying for jobs suck sometimes..lol. I’m glad that God opened up the doors for you! I know he will do the same for me in his own timing. Love you tons! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

