Big City-Bright Lights- Renee`

So I have officially made the transition from big town girl to big city girl and it has been very interesting to say the least. Although most might not consider Montgomery a town…everybody knows everybody there it’s very very circular. And having lived there for quite some years I knew quite a few people.

I was spoiled in Montgomery I am usually the youngest person in the office so it usually just happens that someone wants to be my mentor. I always had a mentor from my intern days to my first day of working with the organization I am with now and it happened quickly and lasted forever. Most of the people that took me under their wing still speak to me and still try and give advice. I notice in the “big city’..not so much LOL everyone seems to stick to themselves and idk the culture is different. Everyone is in a hurry (this traffic isn’t anything to play with LOL).

So God has taken me out of my comfort zone of having a work mentor. I’ve had to figure quite a bit out on my own and that doesn’t seem like it will change..and who knows maybe God is preparing me to be someone’s mentor very soon. God has a way of removing anything that would distract from Him getting glory, and I will admit that I have used my mentors as a crutch. They were the ones to push me in social situations and guide me through some interesting office dramas and dos and don’ts career wise; so I relied heavily on them.

God will only allow you to have milk for so long until He switches your diet to some more heavier substances..so now I am learning how to accept what He is doing.

On another note with one of my radical goals I said I wanted to work with Daniel more on educational things. I have really been focusing on this goal a lot the last week or so. I realized that I had a habit of calling someone (usually my mother) right after work which meant I was on the phone when I picked him up or soon after. I have decided to cut that out and use that time for really engaging him in conversation; I have been amazed at what runs through the mind of a two year old. Also, in the morning going to his school he and I used to jam out..now I am taking that time to engage in conversation as well.

He has adjusted  to the move (probably better than I have lol) and seems to like His new school. He’s in the 3 and 4 year old class right now just to see how he does..so I am def trying to work with him so he can stay in that class..but if not that’s ok too..I mean these other kids have him by almost two years..so it’s no pressure,

Bright Lights,

Renee`

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on March 26, 2013 - 6:27 pm

    It seems it is time to break out on your own workwise. It I shard to work without a mentor (I know this from experience) but you will learn so much about your own talents and abilities and grow. I am glad to hear Daniel is adjusting well and I am so glad you and him are “talking” more. He can be your anchor in a new town. Always know I am praying for you and that I love you!
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by Venus on March 28, 2013 - 7:55 pm

    Hey Nee! You’re fortunate to have a work mentor. I never had that ever on a job..lol. It was more like I get trained (which isn’t a lot period of time usually) then get thrown into my job. lol. Well girlie, it’s time for you to put on your big britches and get use to not having a work mentor now. I think that you’ll be fine w/ your job. That’s crazy how the culture is different in B-Ham than Montgomery! I’m glad to hear that your son is adjusting well and that you’re working w/ him when it comes to educational things. I’m quite sure he will suck up all that info. Love you! ~Venus

  3. #3 by radical7even on March 28, 2013 - 8:23 pm

    Hey ladies! thanks for all the love. I have to also say it has literally been only a week. So I shouldn’t feel too weird about it but I do. I do know that I prayed for this and should be grateful and I so am! I just have to keep pressing!
    love you both- Renee

  4. #4 by Kelly Cromer on March 30, 2013 - 3:39 am

    Here’s hoping you have another work mentor soon. 😀

Leave a Reply

