Check-check-checking- *Gem*

Hello world,

I am back to update you on my progress and assure you that while I have not blogged recently I have not deterred from my goal of being radical, even in small ways. I think I have been doing fairly well and I am always reminding myself to push myself out of my comfort zone knowing that God’s grace will carry me through whatever temporary discomfort I may be facing. Let’s jump right it, shall we!?

Learn to cook at least 10 new meals – I have so far learned to make a delicious chicken fried rice, and I have also started to try different salads along with my meals. I now know how to make a mean cucumber salad and a red,yellow,green and orange bell pepper salad. It has taken me a long time to even attempt to introduce something different to my usual meals so this is a start.

Decreasing Debt/ Increasing my savings- I imagine this will be a continuous work in progress. My finances are more or less the same. What I have done is given myself more accountability by putting my finances under a microscope. I have pulled my credit report, enrolled in credit monitoring and I have an account on http://www.creditkarma.com , a wonderful website full of the BEST financial guidance that I have ever come across. They track your credit and spending (once you link your bank account) It is completely secure. It also helps you calculate based on how much you make , how you should save, spend ,etc. As you can see, I really love the website because it  helps me feel as though while I still earn the same amount of money, I can manage what I have better.

Find a home church- I didn’t realize how much anxiety I had about finding a home church until I started looking and thinking about what it was that I was looking for.I currently tune in to TD Jakes, Joyce Meyer and Joel Osteen who in my opinion really lay things out in a way that I can receive and understand it. I have many of their teaching tapes that I listen to in the car and DVDs that I watch at home that really provide guidance for me as a continue working on my relationship with God. I have identified a church that I would like to go to and I have a good feeling about it. Since I will be out of town this weekend my first visit will be on 4/7/13. So stay tuned!

Create a home office- I have a designated space for my home office and I might say. MOST of my work is in that area. I occasionally move my laptop around. But my scanner, printer and work material all stay put and if I need to access them- I sit at the computer desk and take care of business.

Volunteer- I have not been at a specific place and volunteered. My sister and I were talking about volunteering and giving of self in a way where you feel as if you are contributing but you are not in fact “getting paid”- I realized there are sooooo many ways to give of your time without signing up on a “volunteer sheet” – I keep this in the back of my mind always when I am at work. I do many things that are for the most part not my actual job but just something that I want to do for my client that I feel will be helpful. I enjoy being a therapist that provides in home services and also has the opportunity to provide community support…this enables me to go the extra mile-or 2 miles-or 3 miles (whether I’m being paid or not)

Meditate- It’s as natural as breathing to me now to use meditation as a stress reliever and a way to restore balance. I am currently participating in Deepak Chopra and Oprah’s 21 day meditation challenge that began on March 11th. For more info check out the website. Registration and Participation are FREE! It is so amazing!

http://www.chopracentermeditation.com

Overcome Guilt- I am doing fairly well I would say. I try to stay in the here and now, so when I begin feeling guilty about something , I almost immediately examine why I feel guilty. I ask myself questions such as “Am I hurting someone?” “Do I feel undeserving?”  The more I examine the source of the guilt the easier it is to address the fact that doing something for myself because I want to do it …is certainly NOT a reason to feel bad.

Overall , I feel proud of myself for moving forward . I remind myself that even if the moving forward is slow…it’s still in the right direction. I hope you too, (baby steps or giant leaps) have your eyes fixed only on the road ahead.

As always

One day at a time,

Gem

  1. #1 by Venus on March 29, 2013 - 5:52 am

    Hey Gem! I’m so happy to see a post from you!!! WOO HOO! You did it! Anywho it seems like you’re in the right direction w/ your goals! I would love to hear about how the church service went (when you go). I never heard of Deepok Chopra. I’m going to have to Google that! lol! I’ve made some progress when it came to making new meals (we both have that goal). You can look on FoodNetwork’s website for recipes. Also other food websites of course. I’m glad you have your mini office space together! AWESOME! I’m proud of you Gem! Keep on pushing w/ your goals! Love you!

  2. #2 by Renee N. Chaffin on March 29, 2013 - 2:49 pm

    Hey gems!
    Love the post! I know how radical you are glad to see so much progress done on your goals. Praying for more success
    Love u

  3. #3 by starsinhereye on April 1, 2013 - 3:14 pm

    So glad to hear from you girl! You are kicking radical butt! Love you!
    ~Audrey

Leave a Reply

