Baby steps :) *Kels

keep-calm-and-lift-weights-31

 

Hello loves! I am writing to my girlfriends primarily, because without your incessant reminders I would not be blogging. Thanks, really. 🙂

 

First and foremost, ELIAS WALKED TODAY!!! I laughed and hugged my little man and then cried out of joy for my luck of actually seeing his first steps. It felt almost like seeing him for the first time. I felt close to God in an awestruck way. I know that was one of the few moments of my life that I will always remember and cherish–a defining moment. Enough with the emotions… let me tell you the details.

 

My Dad, a.k.a. Papa, and Elias were in the living room watching television. Elias was successfully stealing bites of my Mom’s yummy, spicy chili. When he saw me walk back into the room he let go of the couch and took one step towards me! His first step was walking towards Mama, who was NOT at work. Yay! Anyway, my Dad generously handed me one of the tantalizing chili beans Eli loves so much, and Elias took 3 steps towards me to retrieve it! I live for this. When Nathan got home Eli took a step for him and stood in a really cute crouching position holding his soft toy sword before refusing to entertain us with his physical prowess any further.

 

As for me, today was special for my feet as well. More specifically, my ankle. You see I have been working out like a mad woman on a daily basis. I want to be in peak physical shape prior to my upcoming pregnancy (which with be in June if all goes as planned!). I’m lifting weights, doing at least an hour of cardio most days, and a healthy smattering of yoga and floor exercises. So far my posterior tibial tendinitis hasn’t given me any significant trouble. Today I took a leap of faith and ran a little over a mile around my neighborhood. A year ago this would have been impossible. It seems my ankle is stronger now that I’ve given it time to heal and eased back into running with elliptical machines. This may sound boring to many of you, but if you know me well you know how devastated I was when I was told I wouldn’t be able to run again. To me this is literally an answered prayer. I am still going to take it slowly and run maybe once a week to make sure I don’t overdue it. Wish me luck and blessings!

 

I decided to do a little goal review while I’m at it. The goals my girls and I all made in October have not been on the top of my priority list. I admit this reluctantly, but the point of blogging with my HIS girls is to be honest. Overall I’ve still managed to make pretty good progress.

1 & 2: I’ll combine these goals, as they actually mesh well together. I wanted to have more sincere, closer relationships with others, and also to disengage in fruitless efforts that are unappreciated. I think I’m doing a pretty decent job. Of course I would LOVE more time with my friends, but I have made a few good friends at work and make an effort to get out of my bubble and interact with everyone to maintain good rapport with my co-workers. This is easy because I have the best co-workers ever. I genuinely like going to work on Mondays to catch up with everyone. How lame is that haha?

In terms of clients, this goal is a huge relief in terms of emotional energy expenditure. I used to feel drained trying to keep all the individuals on my case load happy. Now I focus all my extra energy on people who appreciate me and actually benefit from my efforts. Namely, it’s all about the kids and a handful of parents. If people just want to complain, I listen enough to address their problems and keep it moving. If people want to improve their lives and need help, I’m there for whatever they need within the bounds of my job. It’s a rewarding approach.

3: We still haven’t found a home church. Nothing compares to Immanuel. I miss my Immanuel family and that feeling of belonging.

4: I have no time to garden for food. Wait, my kumquat tree has one little overachieving fruit halfway ripened. That counts because it’s so cute lol.

5: I found a good work/family balance, to the extent that is possible as a social worker. I do the best I can in the 40 hours I have, and then I go home. Period. When I look back on my life, I want to remember the little moments I shared with my family. I won’t care at that point if my desk was perfectly organized or if I got any overtime pay. I keep my kids safe at work, and then I come home to my Elias and all the other members of my beautiful family.

6: I’m making good progress on my pursuing my counseling interests. I’m still not sure if my full dream of a Ph.D. is even feasible at this point. Sometimes you can’t really have it all. I want to have a close relationship with Eli. I am contemplating another masters degree, this time in counseling. I haven’t decided yet, but in the meantime I’m studying for the GRE with every spare moment. I study vocabulary on the elliptical machine at the gym, in the car waiting for clients, and in some meetings that don’t require my undivided attention. I study math and do practice tests on the weekends and sometimes in the middle of the night if I’ve woken up with Elias too many times to get back to sleep. I’m proud of my work ethic. I am excited to take the GRE and see what I’m capable of this time around.

7: I’m still lacking in the area of being mindful about what I consume. I eat very healthily, but every day there is something just a little too yummy to say no. Lately it’s been dark chocolate. I’ve read it’s good for you here and there, but I am just a dark chocolate fiend. I need a 12 step program with meetings lol.

 

Well if you read all of this, thank you for hanging in there. Much love and positive energy to everyone!

Best wishes,

Kelly

 

 

  1. #1 by radical7even on April 8, 2013 - 1:11 am

    Way to go Kelly!!! I am so happy for your progress which is by no means small. Also what a blessing to share those special first steps with your Eli. You are awesome!!! Pam

  2. #2 by Renee N. Smith on April 8, 2013 - 1:24 am

    I cannot believe Eli is walking!! I hate we don’t live closer 😦 I wish I could physically be there but I’m uber excited that I can share in moments via rad7even.
    Being a working mom is hard esp when it comes to balance so let me know when u have the answers for that one. But like you I’ve determined being with family means a whole heck of a lot more than the work stuff.
    So proud of you! Love u

  3. #3 by Venus on April 9, 2013 - 8:10 am

    Hey Kels!! YAY TO ELI WALKING!!!! WOW!!! That’s so awesome and exciting! Did you take a picture of him walking? I’m happy to hear that your ankle is getting better! =) I’m proud of you for running! Kudos to you! Just take it one day at a time w/ your ankle. YAY to the progress on some of your goals! I think that you and your husband should try visiting at new church at least once a month. Maybe that can help your goal on getting a church home. It’s just a suggestion. =) I’m glad that you found your balance! I know that you were stressing out w/ work and everything. Pray about the direction w/ getting your Ph.D. I hope that you do well on your GRE whenever you take it! Keep on pressing w/ your studying! Lol @ dark chocolate fiend! I know the struggle w/ sweets oh so well..lol..I love sweets! It’s hard for me to put them down. If I have access to them, I’m going to eat something! lol! Anywho I don’t think there is anything wrong w/ eating chocolate here and there as long as you don’t over do it. =( to you not having the time to garden. That’s a bummer! Know that I’m proud of you and I love you! ~Venus

    P.S. I’m happy to read another blog from you. Way to go Kels!

  4. #4 by Venus on April 9, 2013 - 8:11 am

    Oh I forgot to say yay to you working out!!! =) I’m proud of you for getting in shape before the pregnancy! WOO HOO!!

  5. #5 by starsinhereye on April 9, 2013 - 3:23 pm

    Physical steps for you both! How cool is that! I am sooo glad you are able to run again! I remember what it was like for you to adjust to the idea you might not run again. Yet another praise report! keep up all the good work! Love you!
    ~Audrey

Leave a Reply

