Keys to Success-Renee`

Where oh where to begin. I guess I will begin with my wonderful Easter weekend. I went to Landmark Church of Christ (which has been the church I have been visiting for well over a year now) and the preacher Buddy Bell preached on  “Set Free”; because of Jesus death (and my acceptance of Him as my Savior) I am set free from sin,death and anxiety . At the end of the sermon each person was asked to pick one (or a few) keys with a message on it and give it to people to encouraged them; little did I know I would need that encouragement three weeks later.

Image

(in case you can’t read it: If the Son has set you free you are free indeed John 8:36)

I have settled in a little bit better to the city life; my caseload has picked up, I am learning alternate routes and I am getting busier in general. But there has been one goal that has been on my heart since I was at least 20 years old and that has been to be a homeowner; this dream became a fixation after becoming a mother because I wanted to give my son space to run around and grow.

Being military my family has rented all of my life. Everywhere we went was never meant to be permanent so I have longed for a place to call my own. Now that I am married..I def want the picket fence. Anywho, I started paying on my loans this year ( I did AmeriCorps VISTA for two and a half years-which had my loans deferred, and I went to grad school for a year) and I was not happy paying on the thousands of dollars I owe but I was ready to get started. One day I just so happened to look at the previous payment schedule; out of the dollars I am sending each month literally $8-$10 was being put towards PRINCIPAL…at this rate I would be paying on these student loans until…Jesus returns. This caused a great deal of sadness for me. I am a stickler about paying bills on time and off..and to know that this will take me a bagillion and one years to pay off (esp. when I want to be a homeowner) set me back a bit.

But that’s when I was reminded that I am set free. I am set free from random time constraints that I impose on myself. I am set free from anxiety about bills or loans. I am set free to dream..and dream BIG. If I focus on all that is going on..I will always have something to be sad about, BUT if I use my eyes of FAITH and focus on the promises my God made to me…what a difference that will make.

If I focus on faith, I can enjoy living in my apartment now and not feel bad about not being in my home yet.

If I focus on faith, I can enjoy the fact that I have a job that allows me to cover all the essentials and some fun things ( and that better is coming)

If I focus on faith, I can see how God has brought me through so many other things that I didn’t see a way out of.

That’s the key to success, refocusing.

I hope that you will take some time out today and look at your situation through the eyes of faith.

Faithfully watching & waiting,

Renee`

 

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on April 15, 2013 - 9:23 pm

    Keep your head up girl! We have to remember that all is in his time. You are right; we are set free! You are doing radical girl! Love you
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by Venus on April 16, 2013 - 4:33 am

    Hey Renee! I love this post! I think the messages with the keys attached to it are great idea! I’m glad that you found encouragement from the sermon and also from the bible verse. I know how much student loans suck! I pay Sallie Mae every month and it seems like it’s going to take me a few yrs to pay it off. Anywho don’t give up on your goal of being a homeowner. It can happen! Stay positive! Love you! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

