Peace Cranes, Lillies and Preschoolers (oh my!)- Renee`

Hey hey hey world!

I cannot believe that it will be May in just a few short days! This year is flying by. Anyway I wanna talk about some of the radical things I’ve done over the past few weeks.

1) I bought a living, photosynthesis-needing plant! Her name is Lilly (yes I named my plant) and she is alive and well..after two weeks. This my friends is a record! The last alive plant I had I was in third grade and we were growing beans..my bean never made it home :/ But Lilly is the only girly thing in my home since I am surrounded by men.

2) I have been cooking up a storm. In fact, in my down time I have been researching recipes. The last few things I have made were Italian stuffed chicken, turkey burgers, crispy cheddar chicken and steak. The reason for so much “yard bird” my husband and I are trying to cut down on our red meat intake.

3) I was also challenged by my Rad7even sister Pam, to work on Daniel’s sight words. I was supposed to use some of their favorite characters and put sight words with it..I don’t have a printer at home so that’s been on hold BUT I have taken the challenge serious and have worked with the boys on learning to write their letters. I am proud to say my Landyn has his O and capital A down! and Daniel…is an amazing artist LOL he doodles all over that paper..got to get him to focus.

4) I have been going to the gym. This is earth shattering. I hate the gym. I hate the gym..did I tell you I hate the gym? When I was a regular at working out I always did it at home or ran..I like feeling free. Plus I feel awkward on the machines. Ironically, I married a personal trainer, who loves the gym (shrugs). So he’s been encouraging me to be more active. I must say for anyone t get me in the gym more than once a year..he must be the absolute BEST personal trainer ever. And actually he is, he’s incredibly patient and encouraging and doesn’t look at me crazy for running one lap and almost passing out to my death! *cheers to a summer ready body*

Ok now onto what I am learning spiritually. I went to a luncheon where a woman(Melissa) who writes only about the good and positive things happening in the city was a speaker. She spoke about peace cranes and how she had forgiven the terrorists who killed her son during 9/11. This woman who lost a child by such violent means was using peace to overcome her grief. She teaches 4th and 5th graders about peace and makes it her mission to spread hope instead of despair. The level of this woman’s hope and patience was incredible. She also told the story of Sadako Sasaki a young Japanese girl that was two years old when the Atomic bomb was dropped on Japan. As a result of the blast she developed leukemia. It is believed that if one folds 1,000 cranes one can get a wish granted by the gods. She fell short of folding her 1000th crane and many say her classmates helped to fold up the additional cranes as a sign of solidarity. The crane became a symbol of peace.  Melissa is now trying to get 10,000 cranes folded that will hopefully be displayed on September 15 2013 (the date of the Birmingham Church bombing) as sign of peace. I am often amazed and inspired by people who choose to not be overtaken by evil and continue to trust God and fight for what’s right. I’ve meet people from both ends of the spectrum and I wonder what makes the difference. Why and how are some motivated by trials and some hardened?

I realize that I have allowed some circumstances and people to harden my heart at times. I feel that whatever was done to me was completely undeserved (which may or may not be true), but the truth is the more we focus on the act..on the person who committed the act we lose focus on the bigger picture. God is a forgiving, loving God who promised that He would leave His peace for us. We just have to accept it. What makes the difference between someone who overcomes and someone who succumbs, their acceptance of God’s Sovereignty in their lives.

Peace Be With You,

Renee`

, ,

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on April 29, 2013 - 7:00 pm

    Hearts can be heardened easily and it is a fight not to become jaded. Kudos for you remembering through other acts that hearts can be soften. Good luck in the big city! Love you!
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by Renee N. Smith on April 29, 2013 - 7:26 pm

    Yes ma’am it is a fight, but I think it’s def one worth fighting. I hope I never get tired of fighting the good fight. I think God sends little reminders esp when we are feeling a bit disconnected. Thanks for the love & support! love u right back!

  3. #3 by Venus on April 29, 2013 - 7:35 pm

    Hey Nee! I’m proud of you and the things that you have done. That is radical!!! I love the progress that you have made! I can relate to hating the gym. I don’t go the gym at all..Lol! Yay to you buying a plant! Now continue to keep it alive! lol! I have an aunt named Lillie. I’m glad that you are learning how to cook more things! I’m learning to do the same. =) I just paid sweet and sour chicken stir-fry for the first time yesterday. =) I’m proud of Landyn and Daniel!! Ya’ll continue to work w/ them on their sight words! Lol @ Daniel being a great doodler! lol! I like to doodle too!! I’m glad that you learned a lot from the luncheon and you was able to take some nuggets with you. Continue to be radical!! Love you!! ~Venus

  4. #4 by danigeorge25 on April 29, 2013 - 7:42 pm

    Great post. It is sometimes a hourly battle to either allow something to bind you or you bind it and create something new under your own terms.
    ~Danielle

Leave a Reply

