There Is Power In the Name of Jesus- Renee`

This week has been very,very interesting. I started reading the book The Resolution; which is the female version to the book Courageous. It has been challenging, because I keep getting one word from God. The Word seems to be focus on “us”; and by us I mean the relationship I am building and maintaining with Him. To not get so caught up in what other people are doing or not doing. To really speak when He leads me to and not because i feel like something needs to be said. (this is pretty tough). 

I am a stickler and feel that my moral compass points North most of the time; so when I see things (injustices as I call them) I get really unnerved by them. It is what makes me such a great social service worker. That same passion for right/wrong can sometimes spill over into other areas of my life and unfortunately for me I have some issues seeing gray areas a lot of the time. 

When you move from one place to another it is natural to compare things. I’ve compared my entire life before I moved to this area. Again..not a lot of gray area when I was looking at how different this place was from my former home. Honestly, it caused me to have a harder time transitioning here because I was clinging to what I had before. My husband is one of the most positive people I know. Everything from him (in my eyes) seems to be seen from what I call the butterflies and rainbows perspective. Nothing seems to rattle him or upset him for the most part. He’s the eternal optimist. I on the other hand consider myself to be a realist..whatever that really means. And don’t quite see things as positive as he does. It’s amazing how two people can be in the exact same situation and handle things entirely different. Remember my question in the last blog about what separated people when bad things happened to them. And I stated it was the belief of the sovereignty of God. I keep getting confirmation that this is the absolute truth. While discussing my point of view with my HIS Gem she stated it is better to look at things through the rainbows and butterflies perspective than the thunder and roaches one. I agree..but how in the world do I change my natural inclination to worry or fret or complain? Again…really believing that God is sovereign and all powerful and all mighty. That no matter what happens in the natural that HE is always in control.I have to renew my mind daily. One thing that helps is music. Music is something that can really speak to your soul and stick with you. There’s a song called Break Every Chain by Tasha Cobbs that I just LOVE. It is powerful.

Here’s a link to the video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-pD2zIuiC2g 

and here are the lyrics:

Lead:
There is power in the name of Jesus(3x)
to break every chain, break every chain, break every chain. (2x)

Chorus:
There is power in the name of Jesus(3x)
to break every chain, break every chain, break every chain. (2x)

Lead:
Theres an army rising up.(3x)
To break every chain, break every chain, break every chain.(2x)

Chorus:
Theres an army rising up.(3x)
To break every chain, break every chain, break every chain.(2x)

Vamp:
I hear the chains falling.

End:
There is power in the name of Jesus
to break every chain, break every chain, break every chain.

Read more at http://www.lyrics.com/break-every-chain-lyrics-tasha-cobbs.html#ByvurFOVOSJE6u0s.99 

Chains off,

Renee` 

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Venus on May 10, 2013 - 10:32 pm

    Hey Nee! What a powerful post! I’m glad that the book is allowing you to grow more spiritually and expose the areas in your life that you need to work on. I know that I’m a realist as well! I’m working in changing the way that I think. I’m glad to hear that your husband is an optimist! I know that comes in handy! Thanks for sharing the song! Love you! ~Venus

  2. #2 by Renee N. Smith on May 12, 2013 - 2:23 pm

    Hey Venus!
    The book is pretty awesome. I def couple it with more Scripture time as well. Change on our own is so difficult so I’ve basically stopped trying and allowed the Holy Spirit to come in and have His way.
    It’s pretty awesome living with an optimits but it def has some challenges lol
    Love u too

    • #3 by Venus on May 17, 2013 - 4:01 pm

      Yeah change is hard! I’m glad that we have the Holy Spirit to help us! I can see how being around an optimist could be a challenge since you think realistically. lol!

  3. #4 by starsinhereye on May 20, 2013 - 8:12 pm

    Jason and I are a lot like that. I worry, he doesn’t. He helps me learn not to worry and helps calm the storm in my mind. God has led me to this man so I can relax but also she can understand what things need to be taken seriously.
    I have thunder and cockroach views too because i feel like I need to prepare for them. I have to remember that I have God and that will prepare me for anything. So I get it girl. Good luck letting him step in; i’ll be on that path with yoU!
    ~Audrey

  4. #5 by Renee N. Smith on May 22, 2013 - 8:37 pm

    I am so glad we were able to find a balance in our lives. It’s always good to have that “other” perspective. It will def take some time for those thoughts to change. Love you!

Leave a Reply

